New Hard disk opinion - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2006, 09:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 8
Cool New Hard disk opinion

I need another HD , both my 80 G and 160 G are full

Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD2500KS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s


Maxtor DiamondMax 10 6V250F0 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s



jogoz is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 09:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

Western Digital. Maxtor quality sucks.

A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 11:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Elbatrop1's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057

I use both WD and Seagate in my comp. I would recommend either of them to anyone looking for a new HD.

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 12:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 66

I'd go with WD
Asus Board
AMD X2 4400
2GB OCZ Platinum
Raptor 150GB
Caviar 320GB SATA2
Asus 7800GTX
SUSE 10.0 64Bit-WindowsXP x64-Vista 5270 64Bit
Jason S is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 12:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 172
Send a message via AIM to BillGates

Originally posted by SHAWN
Western Digital. Maxtor quality sucks.
Mine works fine. So did my last maxtor.
BillGates is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 10:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 10

I would shop price - both of those drives will perform well. I have used Maxtor drives for years with no failures.
Cozmo is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 11:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319

i have a maxtor 160gig...i havnt had any problems....i also have a WD hdd as problems either...go on price cause both are pretty similar hdd's....just the name is diffrent

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 11:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
fr34ky's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509

Seagate and WD only. Had a Maxtor for about a month and then it would just crash right when windows boot screen came up.

fr34ky is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.