new graphics card or pc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2005, 06:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
DBD
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 333
Default new graphics card or pc

Hi guys

I am a gamer and I bought a Emachine T3085, AMD Athlon XP 3000+ 2.17 GHz about 2 years ago and upgraded it to 1.00 GB of RAM with a ATI 9600 256MB (agp) graphics card. I play BF2,HL2,ect....I was looking at ATI's X800XL 256MB (agp) graphics card ($300) It has GDDR3, Will this card work in my pc?

HL2's new lighting demo requires 2.2GHz to play so I CAN'T play it, This makes me want to buy a new PC. I would have about $700-800 to spend on a tower that I could upgrade later. I would buy it from BestBuy or CirciutCity. I don't know what to look for AMD, P4, PD.....

Should I buy a new Graphics card and use my PC for another year or should I buy a new tower and upgrade it over time?
__________________

DBD is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 07:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

Build a computer for yourself.

You can build a good gaming machine for $700-800

Also, go with Nvidia-based graphics cards, they are the top dog in graphics these days...
__________________

__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 08:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 276
Send a message via AIM to Camden
Default

I'd say balls to the wall and just do an entire makeover. .

Hercules is spot on with the gfx cards.


In gaming pc's, AMD seems to be the preferred cpu for gaming(though my intel works fine; it may be different for high end games, indeed i've never had an amd -or- a high end game )

I think ati's, even though their top-line card is supposedly able to outperform the 7800 gt (not sure on this, only heard opinions; help here, someone?), but everyone seems to like the 7800 gtx that has it, or if you're on a tight budget, overclock a 6800gt to about the same level, if you go with a system that could take it
Camden is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 08:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
DBD
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 333
Default

Thanks for the advice I will go with Nvidia. I wish I could just build a computer myself. I wouldn't know where to start. My Emachine shot sparks out the back 20min. after I pluged it in for the frist time, so I like the fact that if I buy a pc from BestBuy or CircuitCity, If somthing is wrong with it, I can drive 5 min. and exchange it for a brand new one.

Well........If you still think I should build a computer myself, Where do I start?
DBD is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 08:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

Start learning to how, then find the parts you want, post them here, then we'll tell what's bad and what's good and what to change it to.

Order it, then build it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 08:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 563
Default

Get a company to build it for you; such as monarchcomputer.com
Or, just upgrade your current computer to a 6800GS if you have a pci-e slot.

If you were to build one yourself, though, you could easily take out the amd 3000 and the gig of ram to give you more space and money to get a new computer.
__________________
PcMe is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 08:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

he doesnt have pci-e....read his first post man...all AGP talk...

ummm if u are going to upgrade go wit a AMD 3200+
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 08:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Avalanch3
he doesnt have pci-e....read his first post man...all AGP talk...

ummm if u are going to upgrade go wit a AMD 3200+
you wont see or feel a difference between a 3000 and a 3200, he's better off getting a 3700 sandy.
Powerslave is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 09:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
My Swag is on!
 
rkf76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 411
Default

Start here

http://www.wisegeek.com/how-do-i-build-a-computer.htm
__________________
Mobo Abit AN-M2
CPU AMD Athlon 64 X2 5400 2.8Ghz Black Edition
HD Seagate 7200.10 250GB/Maxtor DM +9 160GB/WD 500gb external
Optical Drive Lite-On LH-20A1L-06 DVD burner
RAM G.Skill DDR2 800 Dual channel 2GB (2 x 1GB)
GPU MSI HD 4830 OC
Audio AudioTrak Prodigy HD2
Speakers Insignia NS-B2111
Receiver JVC UX-G70
PSU Hiper Type-R 580 watts
Case Lian Li PC-7SB w/Window
Monitor Lenovo L222
rkf76 is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 10:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by p0werslave
you wont see or feel a difference between a 3000 and a 3200, he's better off getting a 3700 sandy.
i have herd that the 3200+ OC's very nice though ??
__________________

__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.