new graphics card new chip set? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2006, 03:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1
Default new graphics card new chip set?

hi ive been look ing to buy the gateway Gt5058 pc

the specs are

Processor
AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ dual-core processor
64-bit processor 2GHz
2000MHz System bus
2 x 512KB L2 cache
Chipset
NVIDIA GeForce 6100
Memory
2GB dual-channel DDR at 400Mhz
Video
NVIDIA GeForce 6100 GPU
128MB
Hard Drive
250GB (7200rpm, 2MB cache)

if i wanted to update my graphics card to say a geforce 6800 gt ultra or even something better would i have to buy and install a new chipset as well as the graphics card?

sorry i'm still pretty new to computers and with the video card and the chipset having the same name i thought that cards and chip sets had to correspond or something. i dont know, thanks alot!
__________________

shadinfox is offline  
Old 05-31-2006, 03:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

No, the graphics card (PCI or AGP) will install over the other card, you just disable it in the BIOS or Device Manager.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-31-2006, 05:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
No, the graphics card (PCI or AGP) will install over the other card, you just disable it in the BIOS or Device Manager.
Yup, PCIE, PCI, AGP

:shocked:
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 05-31-2006, 06:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
Yup, PCIE, PCI, AGP

:shocked:

Finally, i got something right!
talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-31-2006, 07:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
Finally, i got something right!
Hence i added PCIE16 lol
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.