New Graphics card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2009, 05:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Default New Graphics card

Ok i just bought a Geforce 8500gt graphics card.

I have an hp pavilion m7560n. How do i find out how strong my power supply is? will it be able to handle the new card? :happy:

Also, my computer came with the Geforce 6150 LE integrated graphics card. Do i need to take that out? :nerd::freak:
__________________

jj5959 is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 05:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: New Graphics card

Alright. First things first. Making sure your PSU could handle the card would be the first thing you should have done to be safe. Thankfully, the 8500GT isn't a very power hogging card.

You'll have to pop open the case and look at the side of your PSU to see what kind of wattage it has.

You can't take out the integrated video card, it's built into the motherboard. You may have to go into your BIOS and get it to recognize the PCI-E slot first.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 06:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: New Graphics card

F my life.
300 watt power supply.
the card needs 350.
=(
jj5959 is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 06:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: New Graphics card

Well, you can grab a better PSU for not a lot. You don't need anything fancy to run that card.

Honestly, you may get away with that PSU and the card, but it's up in the air.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphics Card Issues HobbesUK Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 02-27-2009 09:49 PM
Upgrading my existing ATI Radeon Graphics Card Paride System Upgrades 5 01-20-2009 08:22 PM
New graphics card for £100 Alvin.C New Systems | Building and Buying 8 06-19-2008 06:10 PM
Dedicated power supply for a graphics card? wencke530 System Upgrades 13 02-23-2008 07:27 PM
Graphics card fan iviv Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-31-2007 06:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.