New graphics card? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2006, 01:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default New graphics card?

Look, I have a computer that is about 2 yrs. old, and the games I want to play lag alot. I have a GeForce4 MX graphics card, and I think I need a new one. World of Warcraft and Guild Wars Factions lag to the extent where i'm dieing becuase I can't see what i'm doing or what i'm agro'ing. I'm on a ridiculusly tight budget and I need something that will run these games with little to no lag. Please give some names.
__________________

jakethecompnoob is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 01:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 240
Default

Could you give us a full liost of your parts(including power supply) That would help quite a bit
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net/?id=3738\"><img src=\"http://serve.dynasig.net/3738.gif\" width=\"350\" height=\"85\" alt=\"Signature\" border=\"0\" /></a><br />
Chris_PC is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 01:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Well, lets see. (I'm not at house right now, but I think I remember) I think I have Athlon 64 XP, 160gb Hard drive, 512mb RAM, You need anything else? Remember i'm a computer noob, lol.
jakethecompnoob is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 01:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jakethecompnoob
Well, lets see. (I'm not at house right now, but I think I remember) I think I have Athlon 64 XP, 160gb Hard drive, 512mb RAM, You need anything else? Remember i'm a computer noob, lol.
Oh and BTW i'm not sure of the PSU.
jakethecompnoob is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 02:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 240
Default

Ok, no problem, what sort of budget are you on?
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net/?id=3738\"><img src=\"http://serve.dynasig.net/3738.gif\" width=\"350\" height=\"85\" alt=\"Signature\" border=\"0\" /></a><br />
Chris_PC is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 05:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 219
Default

What is your budget and where do you livE?
__________________

__________________
AMD 3000+
2gb RAM
X800 PCI-e
80gb + 250gb WD HDDs
X-FI Xtreme Music
DVD/CD-RW Drive
IfYouHaveToAsk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.