new grafics card help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2011, 09:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Portugal
Posts: 5
Lightbulb new grafics card help

hi guys, im buying a new grafics card...
need some help knowing what to buy and witch of these two are best...

GAINWARD GEFORCE GTX 580 GOOD EDITION - 1536 MB GDDR5 - PCI-EXPRESS 2.0 (1749) vendas preos loja GAINWARD GEFORCE GTX 580 GOOD EDITION - 1536 MB GDDR5 - PCI-EXPRESS 2.0 (1749) preo lojas

GIGABYTE GEFORCE GTX 570 OC - 1,2 GB GDDR5 - PCI-EXPRESS 2.0 (GV-N570OC-13I) vendas preos loja GIGABYTE GEFORCE GTX 570 OC - 1,2 GB GDDR5 - PCI-EXPRESS 2.0 (GV-N570OC-13I) preo lojas

im running:

i5-760, 2.80 Ghz, 8mb cache, lga1156, 95w
p7p55D board
2 x 2gb ddr3 1333 OCZ (thinking of upgrading to 8gb)
NOX 600w Apex series
NOX case


thnks for help, soz for my ENG
__________________

hksperformance is offline  
Old 07-19-2011, 10:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: new grafics card help

The GTX580 is more powerful.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-19-2011, 11:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Portugal
Posts: 5
Default Re: new grafics card help

my main question is if it is worth the difrence in price and if i shouldnt get the 570 and with the extra money upgrade something else to get a better overall resalt...i forgot to menstion that im not going to use HD im using a TFT screen...thnks alot for any help =)
hksperformance is offline  
Old 07-19-2011, 11:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: new grafics card help

Quote:
Originally Posted by hksperformance View Post
my main question is if it is worth the difrence in price and if i shouldnt get the 570 and with the extra money upgrade something else to get a better overall resalt...
It depends on what games you're going to play, and what resolution and settings you want to play them at.

Quote:
i forgot to menstion that im not going to use HD im using a TFT screen...thnks alot for any help =)
I don't think you quite understand what HD means. 'HD' is just a marketing term for resolutions higher than standard TV resolution (480p). What is the resolution of your monitor?
Random fact: Computer monitors have been 'HD' since the mid-90s.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-19-2011, 12:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Portugal
Posts: 5
Default Re: new grafics card help

what i mean is that im not going to use any of that hdmi cables etc... dont realy know if it is important or not.... just want an opinion what is better...im looking to play top games at top performance...will u help or not realy? what u mean buy more powerfull?! only thing i understand about is combustion engines...and there i would know what u talking about more power....thnks for help hugs and kisses...
hksperformance is offline  
Old 07-19-2011, 12:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: new grafics card help

If you want top performance, then go for the GTX580.

Quote:
what u mean buy more powerfull?
By more powerful, I mean that it has better computing performance compared to the GTX570. It will give you more fps (Frames Per Second) in games, and let you play games on higher graphics settings.

Do you know what connection your monitor uses to plug into your computer? It will look like one of these. Depending on which you have, you might need to buy an adaptor.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-19-2011, 02:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Portugal
Posts: 5
Default Re: new grafics card help

i use the vga conector but dont remeber if i came with any adaptor...but thats no issue any way .... just wanted to know if ill get that much of performance out of the 50 euro difrence between the tow...thanks allot =)

what eles do u think i can upgrade to skweeeez better performance...
hksperformance is offline  
Old 07-19-2011, 02:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
ninja troll
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: new grafics card help

if you use a 1920x1080 or greater screen, you should notice a difference with an hdmi or dvi cable vs. the vga. the higher quality cables should be able to be bought without a brand name or fancy packaging for a few euros.
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870


jasonalwaysready is offline  
Old 07-19-2011, 02:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Portugal
Posts: 5
Default Re: new grafics card help

hummmm, but my tft has the cable allready coming out of the monitor, what i cant get (and think i have layin around) is the vga to dvi adaptor so i can conect to the dvi output on the card...thats it???

thnks

peace and love 0>-----
hksperformance is offline  
Old 07-21-2011, 11:10 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Yerfdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 326
Default Re: new grafics card help

I think Newegg.com - EVGA SuperClocked 01G-P3-1563-AR GeForce GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card will get you 30 fps in any game on max settings and max resolution for DVI. Except for Metro 2033. Then you'd want to go to the OC'd GTX 570. Right now Crysis is the second most demanding game on the market, Metro 2033 the 1st. You'd get about 30 fps or more with the GTX 560 Ti that I linked in Crysis. You'd probably want to go with the OC'd GTX 570 if you wanted to get 30 fps in Metro 2033 on max settings and max for DVI. If you use VGA, then I guess 5770 would be all you need for maxing out the settings and getting the maximum resolution supported by the cable. (VGA is low-res, DVI is high-res)

If VGA is in any part of the connection, it will be low-res.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichM499 View Post
I agree. You should see the Phenom III x12 I am beta testing. It's running @ 6.2ghz. It literally sends so much information to the ram that Smurfs jump out and punch me in the face.
Yerfdog is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auto copy SD card to pc then delete data from SD card with batch file/autorun Trevor Servers and Virtualization 0 06-14-2011 11:50 AM
Upgrading Grafics Cards - Please Answer :) Elix3r System Upgrades 3 11-29-2010 11:07 PM
Windows 7 blue bricks problem from startup (Grafics card) Runesmacher Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 11 10-23-2010 11:22 AM
Question about this Video card: EVGA e-GeForce 6200 Graphics Card (256A8N341DX) mikepg New Systems | Building and Buying 11 03-15-2006 09:06 AM
Capture card disables my Video Card; removing it enables my Video Card. mtrip Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 03-01-2006 09:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.