New gpu problem - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2014, 11:03 PM   #41 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 86
Default Re: New gpu problem

No problem, no need to rush anymore because I have a working card, just takes a bit of setup to boot the pc lol. And yeah I wish I could go back in time and tell my past self not to buy a prebuild pc, because it is never worth it.
__________________

Blabagas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 02:56 AM   #42 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: New gpu problem

I'm not finding much on this model of HP other than the HP site, In the trouble shooting section it has a issue that your monitor is blank and gives some things to try, One is either update or reset the bios in case you accidentally changed something LOL Well it might be worth a try, This is how they say to do it on your PC without the monitor working. I'd suggest you put the 660 in and try this so it detects it's there and opens the port for the 660 and not the on board. To see which version bios you have it should say someplace in the bios but sometimes can be hard to find but it's in there, Also read all you can when going into the bios, It may flash which version when it's starting.

Reset bios version 7 or greater

1. Turn on the computer and repeatedly press the F10 key for eight seconds.
2. Press the Down arrow three times.
3. Press the Enter key two times.
4. Restart the computer.

Reset bios version 6 or less

1. Turn on the computer and repeatedly press one of the following keyboard keys. Press the key about once every second for 5 seconds after turning the computer on.
For HP and Compaq computers that came with Windows 7 or Windows Vista, press F10 .
For HP and Compaq computers that came with Windows XP, press F1 .
For Compaq Presario desktop computers built prior to 2002, press F10 .
2. Wait another 5 seconds.
3. Press the F5 key. This restores the default settings of the BIOS.
4. Press the Enter key. This accepts the changes.
5. Press the F10 key. This saves the changes.
6. Press the Enter key. This saves the changes and exits from the BIOS.
7. The monitor should display the first screens received from the computer (the logo screens). If not, find and download the latest BIOS update if one is available for your computer.
8. If a BIOS update was not available or the monitor is still blank, continue to the next step.

This is the website that has a bunch of things to try also if the BIOS doesn't get it going.
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/d...t=5256619#N298
__________________

__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 05:12 PM   #43 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 86
Default Re: New gpu problem

Tried that with no luck. Things I have noticed is that when I unplug the monitor and start the pc, the power light goes orange and the computer beeps 6 times with the orange light flashing. It then starts up, and beeps occasionally for a few minutes before finally starting up. Not sure what it means.
Blabagas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2014, 10:22 PM   #44 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 86
Default Re: New gpu problem

Nobody else got any ideas?
Blabagas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 02:47 AM   #45 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: New gpu problem

I've seen this bug fixed by clearing the bios even when no bios setting change would fix it. Easiest way to clear the bios is to remove the small watch battery from the motherboard, then let it sit for 5-10 minutes unplugged. There's usually a jumper to clear it...but easier to just remove the battery on most motherboards.
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 06:29 PM   #46 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 86
Default Re: New gpu problem

Still same issue, no change. Execpt now I have a new issue - I am unable to connect to google/youtube on any browser, it is giving an SSl Error "cannot connect to the real google.co.nz". And the windows update feature is unable to connect. What is causing this issue? Just great to have another problem to deal with ontop of all this..
EDIT: Nevermind just had to update time/date and it now works fine.
Blabagas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 10:28 PM   #47 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: New gpu problem

I was just going to say that sounds like a virus messing with you, just had a repair that had one similar, Stopped the boot up and when I got it to boot up it corrupted only certain things but other things worked fine, Only thing I can think of you doing is a fresh install of windows with your 660 installed and maybe it will set it right. Out of ideas without actually digging in myself on your system.

Dauntae
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 11:22 PM   #48 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 86
Default Re: New gpu problem

Yeah that is the last resort thing I would do though, I might take it somewhere to get looked at. Thanks for all your help.
Blabagas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 12:10 AM   #49 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 86
Default Re: New gpu problem

So after searching around and asking other people including gigabyte and HP, I still have no solution. The best suggestion I have gotten is to buy a new motherboard, from another forum - "OEMs don't like you changing the hardware specs of their pcs. So the way to go would be a new mobo."
I am not willing to accept this as the solution yet, because I can still boot my pc and use it just by unplugging the monitor. But just incase, I need a suggestion for what motherboard I would buy to replace my current one.
HP Pavilion p6-2175a Desktop PC Product Specifications | HP Support

Also I have been told that I do not need to reinstall windows if I get a new motherboard, but I have read that the OS is tied to the motherboard because my machine is a prebuilt HP. Not sure what is true.
Blabagas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 04:09 AM   #50 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,813
Default Re: New gpu problem

Pre built usually has the registration number tied to the MB, Before you start changing parts just try the fresh install of windows, not the repair option clear the HD in case it's got something corrupting files on it, Do the fresh install and see if it works because if you did get a new MB you will need to do a fresh install of windows there too. Your HB might even have a recovery partition on it, Really easy and free so what have you got to lose and it just might fix the issue.

Dauntae
__________________

__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.