New gpu problem - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2014, 07:10 PM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,814
Default Re: New gpu problem

Go into the control panel and make sure the inboard video card is disabled then shut it down and put the monitor cable on the new card
__________________

__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 07:13 PM   #22 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 86
Default Re: New gpu problem

I did that and it just gave me black screen with the monitor plugged into the gpu. I then plugged the monitor into the IGP and it worked then. When I went into the device manager it said the 660 did not have enough free resources. I then went into bios and disabled the IGP and plugged into the gpu, back to the same issue
__________________

Blabagas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 07:57 PM   #23 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,293
Default Re: New gpu problem

But it does show up in the device manager right?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 07:59 PM   #24 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 86
Default Re: New gpu problem

Yes, the 660 and IGP are both there
Blabagas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 08:00 PM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,814
Default Re: New gpu problem

Not enough free resources??? That used to be a issue on the older windows but I've never seen it with windows7, Do you have any other cards installed like a phone modem or anything like that, is so take them all out and try the video card and if that works install one thing at a time after you have the video card installed, hopefully windows will assign a different resource to them.
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 08:10 PM   #26 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 86
Default Re: New gpu problem

Well the exact error message is:

"This device cannot find enough free resources that it can use. (Code 12)

If you want to use this device, you will need to disable one of the other devices on this system."

And I do not have any other cards installed.
Blabagas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 08:22 PM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,814
Default Re: New gpu problem

That's a odd one, Try going into control panel and disable any and all things NOT needed to boot up, Ethernet audio and anything else, Some things are set to a particular Irq and some can take different ones and one of them may be holding one the Video card wants so once you have them all disabled and you can get the video card working then enable one at a time and windows should assign them any free ones.If anything wants the one the video card has you will know what is causing the conflict. I have not seen this issue in a long time.
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 08:24 PM   #28 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,814
Default Re: New gpu problem

Just curious, this PC does have windows 7 correct, if it's older and has windows XP it would make more sense to see this issue.
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 08:29 PM   #29 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 86
Default Re: New gpu problem

I am going to need some help because I do not know which ones I can and cant disable.
The tabs for the devices are:
Bluetooth Radios (I disabled that)
Computer
Disk Drives
Display adapters
DVD/CD-ROM drives
Human interface drivers
IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers
Imaging devices
Keyborads
Mice
Monitors
Network adapters
Portable Devices
Processors
Sound,video and game controllers
System devices (A lot under that tab)
Universal serial bus controllers
WSD Print provider.

Those are all the tabs and I can see some obvious ones to disable but others I am not so sure
EDIT: Yes it has windows 7 64bit
Blabagas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 08:53 PM   #30 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 86
Default Re: New gpu problem

Alright I have gone through and disabled the ones I think I can:
Bluetooth Radios (I disabled that)
Computer - all enabled
Disk Drives - all enabled
Display adapters
DVD/CD-ROM drives - disabled
Human interface drivers - Not sure, there are a lot under this tab - All enabled.
IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers - Enabled.
Imaging devices - Disabled
Keyborads - Enabled
Mice - Enabled
Monitors - Enabled
Network adapters - Will disable all
Portable Devices - Disbaled
Processors - Enabled
Sound,video and game controllers - All disabled
System devices (A lot under that tab) - All enabled
Universal serial bus controllers - All enabled
WSD Print provider - Disabled.

So just a few that I am not sure about, also what happens if I disable something that is required for startup and restart?
__________________

Blabagas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.