New gpu problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2014, 09:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 86
Default New gpu problem

Hello, I have recently purchased a new gpu (gigabyte660) and have been getting issues installing it. My pc is an hp pavilion p6-2175a with a new corsair cx600m. When I install the gpu with the power connected to it and turn on my pc, the power light goes orange and there are several beeps. This only happens on the first startup. After a short time the power button goes blue and the computer makes it to the hp startup screen where it freezes. Pressing esc on the keyboard does nothing, and the pc beeps occasionly. After about half a minute it switches to a black screen with a blinking underscore in the top left. If i restart my pc the power button does not go orange again but everything else is the same.
What could the issue be?
Sorry if I dont respond for a while, I am going on holiday today.
Thanks
__________________

Blabagas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 09:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 86
Default Re: New gpu problem

Forgot to say, the gpu fans are spinning. Also everything works perfect with my old gpu, or integrated graphics
__________________

Blabagas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 09:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: New gpu problem

This happens while your monitor is plugged into the new GPU? Are you using the proper PCI-E cables to power your new GPU?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 09:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 86
Default Re: New gpu problem

Yes I am using the correct cable and my monitor is plugged into my new gpu
Blabagas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 10:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: New gpu problem

Well if you're plugged into the new GPU and it's coming up then at least that's a start.

Something is causing it to freeze. Try reseating the card and make sure the board is clear of dust.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 05:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 86
Default Re: New gpu problem

Alright back for a day, I have already reseated the card a few times. By board do you mean the motherboard or the gpu?
Blabagas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 05:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: New gpu problem

The board.

At this point I would also try the GPU in another machine.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 05:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 86
Default Re: New gpu problem

Well I already sent this gpu back to be replaced and it came back with the exact same issue, so it shouldnt be faulty. I will try clearly and dust I can find
Blabagas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 05:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: New gpu problem

Hm ok, if that' the case then it's surely something else (captain obvious I know).

Have you tried using molex to PCI-E adapters that came with your card just to see if it'll work that way?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 06:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 86
Default Re: New gpu problem

Cleaned the board and reseated the card, same issue. I have tried that adapter yes, Though I'm not sure I did it correctly. What exactly am I meant to connect each connection to?
__________________

Blabagas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.