New expensive video card didn't change much..... - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2010, 01:32 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: New expensive video card didn't change much.....

I would be willing to bet that your processor is overheating, the power supply is bad, or some of the CAPs on the motherboard are bulging.

How often do you clean the dust out? That power supply LOOKS nice on paper, but I have had nothing but trouble with ULTRA PSUs. That might be a problem. The last 3 ULTRA PSUs I had fried.

The problem is NOT the video card if you have had so many different cards and they are all acting like this.

You went from a 9800 to a 5870 and then had issues? I betcha it's that PSU.

You'll know when you get that GTX 480 cause it's going to suck power like a leech.
__________________

RichM499 is offline  
Old 07-29-2010, 03:16 PM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
roweder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 170
Default Re: New expensive video card didn't change much.....

I didn't know that the power supply could be a problem, that could explain the click that i hear when it shuts down during a game.

I actually clean the dust out pretty often, and the case I'm using circulates a ton of air.

When i had the 9800, I was using a Nexus 500 watt power supply.

what brand power supply do you recommend?

i'll let you guys know if the computer shuts down with the GTX 480 as well
__________________

roweder is offline  
Old 07-29-2010, 03:20 PM   #23 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: New expensive video card didn't change much.....

*READ FIRST* Updated Power supply guide

seasonic, corsair, pc power & cooling, ocz, silverstone, enermax, xfx, all pretty much safe bets.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 07-30-2010, 01:18 PM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
roweder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 170
Default Re: New expensive video card didn't change much.....

thank you,

I think you guys were right, I got the GTX 480 today, and the computer shut down like 10 seconds into playing a game.

Should I look into getting a 600-750 watt PSU from one of the more reliable brands?

Edit: i did the calculator from that thread you linked to, and i got 489 watts

Edit Edit: this PSU looks perfect, the way it is modular I can use the cables I already have installed, and I like them alot, they're really flexible.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-017-_-Product
roweder is offline  
Old 07-30-2010, 02:29 PM   #25 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: New expensive video card didn't change much.....

That seasonic looks fine, but, if you really have that ULTRA 1600w and it's not pushing a GTX 480 with an old dual core, then. I don't know. I don't want to call you a liar but that ULTRA (while not being my favorite brand) is enough to push 3 GTX 480s and 2 quad core chips.

You shouldn't have any problems with that Seasonic PSU.
RichM499 is offline  
Old 07-30-2010, 03:19 PM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
roweder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 170
Default Re: New expensive video card didn't change much.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichM499 View Post
That seasonic looks fine, but, if you really have that ULTRA 1600w and it's not pushing a GTX 480 with an old dual core, then. I don't know. I don't want to call you a liar but that ULTRA (while not being my favorite brand) is enough to push 3 GTX 480s and 2 quad core chips.

You shouldn't have any problems with that Seasonic PSU.
I have pictures of it if you don't believe me

you mean silverstone? not seasonic?

Maybe it is a different problem though?


Edit: I tried playing the game again for the second and 3rd time, and it shuts down each time, it will open the game menu and everything, but once I get in game and I'm actually playing, it clicks and turns off in seconds.
roweder is offline  
Old 07-30-2010, 03:37 PM   #27 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: New expensive video card didn't change much.....

what are your temps like?
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 07-30-2010, 03:49 PM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
roweder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 170
Default Re: New expensive video card didn't change much.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muffin Man View Post
what are your temps like?
I don't know, I don't have any temperature monitors, but it will happen even if I have just turned the computer on, and the video card hasn't been hot at all. my processors heat sink is never more than warm to the touch, even at the base (a few seconds after it's been turned off of course)
roweder is offline  
Old 07-30-2010, 04:04 PM   #29 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: New expensive video card didn't change much.....

You need to d/l hwmonitor from cpuid and report the numbers.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 07-30-2010, 04:11 PM   #30 (permalink)
True Techie
 
roweder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 170
Default Re: New expensive video card didn't change much.....



Edit: I tried playing call of duty 4 (I was playing call of duty 6 before when i talked about playing a game) and it worked well with call of duty 4 for a few minutes, probably about 5 to 8 minutes, then the screen went black and the monitor started searching for an input, but the sound was still going and the fans were still running. I could still hear a helicopter flying around, but if I clicked I wouldn't be able to hear me fire, and I couldn't hear other players running around. I'm not sure what this was, but I'm willing to bet that it wasn't the video card.
__________________

roweder is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help With New Video Card Hunter434 System Upgrades 11 09-21-2009 06:30 PM
Best video card for under $60 bhiggins080123 System Upgrades 12 03-01-2009 01:19 PM
Computer Still acting screwy Shana2415 Viruses, Spyware and Malware 10 09-03-2008 11:36 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.