New desktop help - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2008, 01:41 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
Default Re: New desktop help

Thanks Trotter.

So it seems like I'll be getting Puddle suggested. It seems to be exactly what I was looking for.

If I wanted to OC the e7200 how would I go about that or would you advise against it? Most of the people commenting on newegg.com said it worked well when OC'd. Not sure if I would need to do that but future reference wouldn't hurt.

Thanks guys, I really appreciate it you've been way more helpful then I would imagined. Hopefully I'll start learning and be able to help some others out.
__________________

TheEez is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 01:53 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
Default Re: New desktop help

What is the difference besides price? The difference isn't much at all so if there's something that would make those much better than the HD3850 I'll go for those. Do they out do it by a lot?
TheEez is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 02:01 PM   #14 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: New desktop help

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheEez View Post
Thanks Trotter.

So it seems like I'll be getting Puddle suggested. It seems to be exactly what I was looking for.

If I wanted to OC the e7200 how would I go about that or would you advise against it? Most of the people commenting on newegg.com said it worked well when OC'd. Not sure if I would need to do that but future reference wouldn't hurt.

Thanks guys, I really appreciate it you've been way more helpful then I would imagined. Hopefully I'll start learning and be able to help some others out.
Here is a guide for overclocking Core 2 Duo's/ it is long but very detailed.

HOWTO: Overclock C2Q (Quads) and C2D (Duals) - Guide v1.6.1

The E7200 is a great overclocker and the the Rosewill cpu cooler i posted will be able to keep it cool even when overclocked.

If you are concerned about the cooling on the 3850 I posted you could get the one Hussein19891 posted.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheEez View Post
What is the difference besides price? The difference isn't much at all so if there's something that would make those much better than the HD3850 I'll go for those. Do they out do it by a lot?
The 9600gt is a little better than the 3850 and the 8800gs is slightly worse so 9600gt> HD3850>= 8800gs
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 02:12 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
Default Re: New desktop help

So should I go ahead and go with the 9600gt? I was still leaning towards the 3850. Does ATI offer good support and update their drivers??

I think at this point its just going to be preference...
TheEez is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 02:37 PM   #16 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: New desktop help

I wouldd go with the 3850. The 9600gt isn't worth the price increase in my opinion. ATI has been doing a good job of keeping there drivers updated.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 07-26-2008, 04:49 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: New desktop help

go with the 3850
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-02-2008, 12:57 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
Default Re: New desktop help

Sorry for bringing this back up but I was just going to make sure that the case you recommended would be big enough. And if that power supply is okay?
TheEez is offline  
Old 08-02-2008, 01:41 PM   #19 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: New desktop help

The Elite 330 should have plenty of room. I used it in a recent build and was very happy with it.

The Antec EA380 is a good psu and should provide plenty of power for you system.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 08-02-2008, 01:51 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 9
Default Re: New desktop help

Thanks Puddle

now the only question I have left is on Vista. I've looked on newegg for Vista and not sure which one is the best.(Yeah I convinced myself Vista will run fine on this system)

Does 64bit or 32bit make a difference? It seems I'm going to end up spending 170 for Vista.
__________________

TheEez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Desktop turns on and restarts repeatedly, other turns on to black screen cvocvo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 12-31-2007 01:21 AM
friends really bad log..needs some major help here. Static_11 HijackThis Logs (finished) 17 12-07-2007 09:44 AM
New Computers - Which looks best for me? Chris Down New Systems | Building and Buying 8 11-13-2007 11:42 PM
Intel Readies Desktop Penryn Models maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 08-30-2007 01:50 PM
Google Desktop Goes Mac Osiris Apple and Mac 1 04-06-2007 01:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.