New custom water loop? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2015, 09:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default New custom water loop?

So, atm i have a h100i GTX cooling my CPU, which isn't OC'd yet!

I kind of want to get a custom loop etc, and i'll be selling the h100i gtx.

Are there any decent kit's out there under the £200 mark? (I'll add the GPU on later)

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 02:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: New custom water loop?

WHy?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 02:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: New custom water loop?

Cause, i'd like to beable to see the liquid, and have a nice small res inside too, as im going to water cool my gpu in a few weeks as well. plus the h100i gtx is pretty loud. so yeah.
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 03:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: New custom water loop?

You can control the fan speed with Corsair Link. Mine is quiet.

Do you understand what it takes and the risks involved with custom water? You already have a big cooler on your 970 so water won't do much in the form of helping you out there. Actually, spending 100+ on a good water block puts you in 980 territory price wise which doesn't make much sense. I normally don't discourage people from shooting for the stars in PC land, but this is a bit unnecessary.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 03:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: New custom water loop?

Yeah so can i, but i'd still like the look of the tubes etc. haha. I found one for £140, not sure if it's any good though?

Magicool DIY Water Cooling - Set Triple 120 mm Edition [WASE-244] from WCUK Online
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 05:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: New custom water loop?

When you deal with custom water you want name brand stuff unless they're using something like a nickel or copper block and copper rad. The res/pump combo could be made with inferior quality and could leak pretty easily. The pump is only rated for 450L/h which IMO isn't enough to push both a CPU and GPU in a loop. The rad specs seems actually decent but the only good part in that kit. The CPU block is acetyl which is basically plastic. If the build quality is inferior it will leak on you. Drogos on here got lucky with a cheap setup but the pump was rated at 1200L/h, with a copper/brass rad and a copper CPU block that he quickly replaced with an EK.

At the minimum I'd get a kit like this or piece something together for yourself using a mixture of good quality parts from good brands. You could get away with getting Alphacool blocks, a cheaper rad like a BlackIce or Alphacool, and get yourself a good EK res/pump combo. Some examples for reference:

Alphacool NexXxoS XT45 Full Copper 240mm by Alphacool (Black color)
Watercool HEATKILLERģ CPU Rev3.0 1155/1156 LC CPU Water Block by Watercool (Black color)
XSPC Raystorm CPU Waterblock - Intel by XSPC (Black color)
EK-Supremacy MX CPU Waterblock - Plexi by EK Waterblocks (Black color)
Phobya CPU-Cooler UC-2 LT Intel 775,1155,1156,1366,2011 - Black Edition by Phobya (Black color)
Aquacomputer Cuplex Kryos PRO for Sockets 1366/1156/1155/1150/775, G1/4 by Aquacomputer (Copper color)
Alphacool NexXxoS GPX - Nvidia Geforce GTX 970 M03 - with Backplate by Alphacool (Black color)

You just have to check compatibility with your card due to not having a reference PCB.

Another thing you didn't answer is if you actually know what going water involves. When initially setting the loop up you have to piece it together, then tear the parts off the hardware and leak test it separately for at least 8 hours to make sure there are no leaks. You also have to use expensive coolant bought separately or make your own mixture that doesn't corrode. It's also bad to mix metals as it'll cause corrosion easily. You cannot use tap water. I personally like to use distilled water mixed with a little bit of 99% isopropyl which if you DO have a leak can get costly. On top of that it's recommended to flush and repeat the process every 6 months.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 05:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: New custom water loop?

Thanks, i'd need it to be from the UK. as that's where i am, not US :P

And i kind of do know what it involves. And yeah, i know about the tearing everything apart etc. and leak testing for 24 hours.

What about this kit? https://www.overclockers.co.uk/xspc-...wc-327-xs.html

I'd just buy the coolant already made, would save me time. and that's fine emptying the loop every 6 months, As i love working on PC's. lol
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 06:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: New custom water loop?

As I said, for reference But PPC ships internationally as does EKWB lol.

That XSPC kit would be good, just know that you don't need a 360 rad to cool a single CPU and GPU.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2016, 04:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: New custom water loop?

Ah, didn't know they shipped to the UK xD

Hmm as for the rad, i know. i'd like a bigger rad then what i have now anyway. and for £200, can't complain for the kit. Hehe

Will take me a few weeks to save for it, but i can't wait. haha. Then to upgrade to a GTX 980 ti
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2016, 05:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: New custom water loop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHumanComputer View Post
Ah, didn't know they shipped to the UK xD

Hmm as for the rad, i know. i'd like a bigger rad then what i have now anyway. and for £200, can't complain for the kit. Hehe

Will take me a few weeks to save for it, but i can't wait. haha. Then to upgrade to a GTX 980 ti
Nah, definitely hold out. Pascal is going to rip mate.

Btw, you got me off my butt. I started the process of SLOWLY getting my water together. It's nothing conventional though.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Closed water cooling loop? slvrstang Overclocking and Modding 27 11-21-2008 10:53 AM
WTS: Water cooling loop braz Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 10-25-2008 01:17 PM
Nice price on another Asetek water cooling loop aspire Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 10 12-15-2007 10:20 PM
Great price on a mid range water cooling loop. aspire Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 3 12-01-2007 09:29 PM
water cooling loop help R1C0CH3T Overclocking and Modding 9 01-16-2007 09:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.