New CPU for Packard Bell 2003 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2011, 08:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 84
Default New CPU for Packard Bell 2003

Hello again forums people, you were so great last time i have decided to return

I am just wondering about a CPU upgrade for my Packard Bell i-Media 825, which i purchased in 2003. Unfortunately i am finding it tough to get specifications from the web, and as the computer is not at my house atm I cannot find out what socket it uses, and what CPU's would be better than the current Pentium 4.

I have been looking at the Pentium D CPU but again not 100% sure its supported.

I have already upgraded to the maximum 2GB of ram, running Win XP.

Any help would be appreciated.
__________________

steves85 is offline  
Old 01-29-2011, 09:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: New CPU for Packard Bell 2003

No kidding it is hard to find info on it. Maybe it has a different model number?
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-30-2011, 11:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iceyc0ld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 410
Default Re: New CPU for Packard Bell 2003

I agree lol, was pretty hard to find.

If you do find it just look at mobo specs and see what socket type it supports. Being from 2003, I think it might support AM2 or AM2 + no AM3 (if it's amd board.). And if it's intel, I'm an Intel noob so don't know anything about their older cpu's.
__________________
Gaming PC Build:

NZXT Phantom | Intel i5-3570k 3.4Ghz | Asus P8Z77-V | CoolerMaster V6 GT | Ripjaws
8GB 1600mhz | EVGA GTX 670 FTW 2GB | Corsair HX750 Watt |SB 1.5TBHDD
7200 RPM+WD 500GB 7200RPM | OCZ Vetex 3 120GB SSD | Lite-On 24x Reader/Writer/Burner Drive |
Razer Naga MMO Gaming Mouse | Razer Lycosa Gaming Mouse | Logitech G930 Gaming Headset
iceyc0ld is offline  
Old 01-30-2011, 11:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: New CPU for Packard Bell 2003

I would say if it's 2003 it wouldn't have an AM2, probably a socket 939
Nick is offline  
Old 01-30-2011, 08:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 84
Default Re: New CPU for Packard Bell 2003

thanks for the encouragement guys. i am wondering if because i am in australia it was a different release model?
steves85 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Packard Bell battery gauchito Laptops and Notebooks 2 05-05-2009 03:45 PM
Packard bell PSU!help! pickyantivirus New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-28-2009 08:43 AM
Packard Bell? scorpsfan Laptops and Notebooks 1 09-08-2007 03:33 AM
Packard bell Z1 Alin Steglinski Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 03-05-2005 11:59 PM
packard bell club 65 demooseus Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 08-31-2004 09:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.