New CPU help!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2007, 09:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1
Default New CPU help!!!

I just bought a Intel Core 2 E6600, and now when I start up it the mother board doesnt beep and nothing comes on the screen. Im wondering if I might need to upgrade my MOBO... My mother board is a gigabyte GA-81945pl-g.
__________________

germmation is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 10:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: New CPU help!!!

GIGABYTE - Support - Motherboard - CPU Support List

E6600: Not Supported

That board is a Pentium D board.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 11:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
(>-_-)>
 
dashogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to dashogun Send a message via MSN to dashogun Send a message via Yahoo to dashogun
Default Re: New CPU help!!!

Yup you need a new board. I recommend the Gigabyte P35-DS3R.
__________________

My computer is now officially out of date :<
dashogun is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 02:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: New CPU help!!!

Please don't tell me you anchored the E6600 to that board!
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 03:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
(>-_-)>
 
dashogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to dashogun Send a message via MSN to dashogun Send a message via Yahoo to dashogun
Default Re: New CPU help!!!

Did it fit or did you have to shove it in:freak:
__________________

My computer is now officially out of date :<
dashogun is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 05:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: American in Hong Kong
Posts: 383
Default Re: New CPU help!!!

Wow. for future ref. sake, just check this forum or other ones like it before buying stuff.
Pdawg is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 11:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: New CPU help!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by dashogun View Post
Did it fit or did you have to shove it in:freak:
It fits. All socket 775 processors fit into a socket 775 slot.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 11:41 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: New CPU help!!!

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-P35-S3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
maroon1 is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 11:44 AM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New CPU help!!!

Hey maroon,

You think the striped down versions of the DS3R, such as the DS3L, S3L...can overclock as well as the DS3R?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-08-2007, 11:49 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: New CPU help!!!

Hi b1gapl

S3L have very good reviews

One of the reviewers said that he overclocked his Q6600 to 3.0GHz on that motherboard
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.