New CPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2006, 07:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 39
Default New CPU

Should I get the AMD Athlon 64 3200+
($180CAD) or the 3700+ ($250CAD) for my own computer

My family shared computer is running P4 3.0 prescott. Will i notice a decrese or increase in perfomance?

Uses:
Downloading
Music
Homework
Bit of gaming

Trying to lower my spending so i need to know how these perform.
__________________

orangefiery is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 07:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Default

Both those chips are good for what you want to do.

How much is your overall budget for your own PC?
__________________

GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 07:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

lol bit of a stupid question. obviously the 3700 is going to be better. and there will be a performance increase if using 64 bit vesion of windows not sure about 32 version
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 07:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

definitely 3700 and yes a good performance increase.
john3 is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 07:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Default

These work quite well with the 32 bit Window OS version because basically that is what the overwhelming majority are running with them right now. Not that many are working with 64 bit versions at the moment.
GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 07:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 39
Default

I have about $250 if I buy the 3700 i will cut down somewhere
orangefiery is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 07:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 39
Default

What about the 3500+
orangefiery is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 07:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

lol its better than the 3200 but not as good as the 3700 doesnt take a genius to work that out. just decide if u want to spend the extra money.
Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 08:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 39
Default

the 3500 and the 3700 have a 6 dollar difference
I think that 3200 will fit my needs
does the term venice mean anything?
orangefiery is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 09:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Default

Venice is the name of the core of the chip. Actually it is good for overclocking. I have this CPU. It is important to remember that if you are going to make a gaming rig the Video Card has become the central focus for importance for the newer games are very GPU intensive. A good video card and the 3200+ should do you fine.

But since you mention that you'll be doing just a "bit of gaming," and your not hardcore, your set-uo should do you well.
__________________

GoodNews101 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.