new cpu? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-22-2006, 02:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 31
Default new cpu?

I have a dell dimension b110 with a dell de051 motherboard. It has a 2.53ghz celly. I gb ram. Win xp home sp2. Socket 478. Can I upgrade to a new cpu....like a p4 3.2ghz for example?
__________________

fuzzypumpkins is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 11:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 136
Default

look at the socket. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ubCategory=343
thats all ur gonna get. might want to look into upgrading ur mobo soon. something that can hold an lga775 type processor. if ur a gamer, switch to amd.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\" http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817153035\"> Power Supply</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814130071\"> Video Card</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813127222\"> Motherboard</a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820145575\"> Memory </a>
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16829102188\"> Sound Card </a>
AMD 3800 x2 Socket 939
<a href=\"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822136033\"> Upcoming Hard Drive </a>
TehBestEver is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 02:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

you got yo buy Northwood core then, that came best until Intel's started burning up.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 03-23-2006, 06:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

As long as its 478 it will work.
turtile is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 09:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 31
Default

I think I'm just gonna save up for a new pc...I'm talkin top of the line.
fuzzypumpkins is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.