New CPU. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-18-2006, 09:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to Solais
Default New CPU.

Just really wondering how much of a difference it would make to go from this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819112188
To this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116172
__________________

Solais is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 09:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

there is a big difference. if you were to replace a celeron with an equally clocked p4 you would still notice a performance increase. celeron's are crippled compared to a p4. that p4 has an extra 700mhz on your cpu so that will be quite a jump.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 09:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

its a big difference but there are still both socket 478 you ar better off getting a s775 mobo and a p4 from there for that price of the cpu.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116198
intel p4 3.0ghz prescott $180

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131567
asus mobo socket 775 $52

total: $232.(same as the p4 3.2 alone)

the sokcet 775 is better and will outperform the socket 478
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 09:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

wow thats some nice linkage. i had no idea that was possible because i don't know american $. that is a far better option solais i would look into that. however if you choose to upgrade motherboard as well i have to try and persuade you to go with AMD as there isn't much reason not to. what is this computer used for?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 10:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

true. nitestick is right. I was just trying to show you that buying that cpu would be a rip off but i would go wiht amd for that same price you could get a good amd cpu and mobo also.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103535
amd athlon 64 3200+ (the 3200+ means that it is equivalent if not better than a 3.2ghz p4)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813138264
this new biostar T-Force mobo has really good revies it is a good mobo.

total: $230

this would be a better matchup than the intel one and it would be better for gaming.

So if you want to stick wiht intel go with the first one but if you want to go with amd and get better gaming performance then buy this. This is better value though. More power for the same price.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 07:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to Solais
Default

the AMD + mobo combo sounded really good, but I noticed that the mobo had no AGP slots. I just recently purchased an AGP video card, not looking to getting a new one.

I also use my computer for many things, but gaming far outways everything else, so the AMD sounds good.
Solais is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 08:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

np solias, you could get an amd mobo with agp here are a couple:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128286
gigabyte is a nice solid brand and this one has an nforce 3 250gb chipset.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813127223
this is an abit mobo with agp also.

Here are all the s939 mobos with agp:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ubmit=Property


I am doing the same thing as you i just bought an agp 6600 too so when i upgrade to a s939 i wil get one wiht agp.l
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 09:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to Solais
Default

Thanks a lot for all the help and replies everyone.
Solais is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 10:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

sure np glad i can help.
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.