new CPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2006, 07:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default new CPU

i have a kinda ****ty old pc, it runs a AMD athlon xp 1600 1.4 GHZ and my mobo only supports AMD athlon/duron CPU's, (mobo MSI k7t266 pro) CPU socket 462, can anyone help me find a better CPU to fit this mobo, i tried ebuyer.com maybe soemone else can look to as im in LONODN UK so i need a english or international site. see who can find the cheapest best CPU for me


P.S will this one fit my mobo http://ebuyer.com/UK/product/86433/rb/20104022502


UPDATE again^^^
as im stil knida new to hardware can someone tell em if this mobo (mine) has PCI-e http://ebuyer.com/UK/product/86433/rb/20104022502 <<<this has full specs but im not sure on most of them

thakns in advance
__________________

__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 08:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

It will fit physically but wont run properly. Actually I don't even think it will run at all. Your motherboard supports FSB's up to 266MHz that CPU's FSB is 333MHz. Honestly there is no point in upgrading a socket A based computer. Scrap it and get yourself some new parts. Also you don't have PCI-e.
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 08:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

Socket 462, AKA Socket A, is pretty much obsolete. No, your motherboard does not support pci-express (you linked to the processor twice, but a Socket A mobo won't have pci-express).

that used athlon xp processor (which isn't even for sale) is pretty much the same price as a socket 939 3000+ processor. i highly recommend you upgrade to at least socket 939. you'd just have to get a new motherboard, which are also quite cheap. if your current system is using ddr ram, then you can even carry over the ram you're using...
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 09:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default

thanks i thougth as much. i ahev jsut ordered another 256mb DDR RAM, and soon will upgrade my GFX card just to keep it kinda at the "meh its ok" status fro general use and occasional gaming. will a AGP *X card work or run propperly in a AGP 4x slot, i knwo by looking i should be able to tell 4/8 diff numebrs but how much difference would it make
__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 09:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Yea it will work but not to it's full potential, just like the CPU.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 06-27-2006, 09:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default

but how much difference would it work, at the moment for gaming i use an ati radeon 7000 32mb, lol i know i know, but it has to be better than this. ill post a link and maybe you could estimate how much id loose out of the GFX card buy placing it in my AGP 4X slot

http://ebuyer.com/UK/product/62209/rb/20104483424


p.s my build may suck but ite neevr failed me for years and i get pretty good FPS in CSS and it will play alot for what it is
__________________

__________________
snypercore is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.