new computer what u think - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2006, 10:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 25
Default new computer what u think

i just bought all of this junk.. could you tell me what u think of the speed and the case and the temp.


ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce SPP 100 ATX

AMD Athlon 64 FX55 San Diego 1GHz HT Socket 939 Processor

ASUS EN6600/TD/128 Geforce 6600 128MB DDR PCI Express x16

Titan Water case TWC-A88 Silver Aluminum ATX Mid Tower

Thermaltake Silent Pure Power W0049RUC ATX12V/ EPS12V 680W Power Supply

2 gig of dual channel ram
2 dvd burners
(1) 80 gig hard drive
(1) 250 gig hard drive


could you please tell me what u think.
__________________

cbrannam is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 11:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

the graphics card could be better. The FX55 is a nice CPU, what core is it?

(You didn't post any temerpatures.)
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 11:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 25
Default

i have not got it yet still in shipping..

the core is San diego

the graphic card is just to get me buy.
cbrannam is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 07:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

lol i love the rig. The fx-55 is awesome. I find it weird how you are pairing an athlon fx-55 with a geforce 6600. lol. You could at leats get a 6800GS for like 50 to 60 dollars more. Overall nice rig, but change the videocard to a lettle better one. Otherwise ditch the fx-55 and get an opteron with a better videocard.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 07:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 15
Default

On Newegg.com the fx-55 os the same price as the fx-57....
tellyousomeday is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 07:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
The FX55 is a nice CPU, what core is it?
AMD Athlon 64 FX55 San Diego 1GHz HT Socket 939 Processor



Should be a nice setup (upgrade the video card...)

As far as temps go, can't really comment on that till you assemble it... they can have small differences in the hardware used to cool, thermal paste used... etc. etc.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 08:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 25
Default

the cooling is goin to be water cooled so i should not have to many problems with that
cbrannam is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 01:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

in theory no, as long as you take your time to insure that there aren't any leaks, and that it is set up properly.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 01:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 25
Default

the system is built in to the case so the setup is only on the video card and the cpu then connect the hoses. everthing can from the same mfg. so it is not a miss match system.

im goin to take about 4 to 5 hrs to set it up
__________________

cbrannam is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.