New Computer!! :) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2005, 05:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6
Default New Computer!! :)

hey guyz, i recently started shopping for parts for a new pc.

So far, this is what i got for the core:

-Amd Athlon 3800+ 512kb cache Newcastle
-Asus A8N-SLI deluxe mobo
-Ati radeon x800 pci-e 256 mb
-1 gig OCZ premier ddr ram, cl 2.5

What do you guyz think? Should the games run smoothly with this build? Thanks!
__________________

bigzbling is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 05:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

They'll run, but why buy a SLI board and an ATI card? ATI's do not run in SLI, so you'd be stuck with one card, period.

If you go with nVidia, you can always get a second identical card later and SLI them together.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 05:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6
Default

didnt know until now.. oh well

i can't buy 2 cards right now anywyas, il prolly sell my ati x800 when the time comes, thanks for telling me though
bigzbling is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 05:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

What games are you going to be running? Also, try to get a Venice or San Diego core processor. If you're going to be playing like BF2 and such, I recommend getting either a 6600GT or a 6800GT/Ultra. I would also recommend getting a DFI board if you're going to go with Nvidia. They are one of the best boards for AMD and Nvidia.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 05:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

De nada.

ATI is supposedly coming out with Crassfire, which is their verison. Thus far, it has all been a bunch of vaporware...
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 05:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6
Default

im more of an nba live fan, so i'll be running that alot, as well as CS. Never played doom before, but i might try it along with Half life, but im more on the EA SPorts side. It should run well right?
bigzbling is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 05:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6
Default

by the way, i bought a rhycon ATX 550 watt power supply, do you guyz think its enough? I bought a pci-e adapter wire to plug my card, but im still not sure if 550 watt's enough, thanks!
bigzbling is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 06:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

550W ought to carry it.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 07:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

go for a 3700+ san diego, and an ATI card if your going to be playing HL2, dont get an ASUS board, just get a DFI nF4 ultra-D or some other board.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 07:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6
Default

thanks for all the response! Why not get an asus board? Does it have many flaws? Thanks!
__________________

bigzbling is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.