New Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-28-2008, 10:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 14
Default New Computer

I am buying a new computer because my old one is very outdated. The only game that I play is warcraft III, so I don't think I would need a great computer to play that but I really do not know. I want to be able to listen to itunes, be in ventrilo, play the game, and be able to alt tab between the programs without my computer freezing up like it does now.

I have been lookin on newegg on the gaming tab for PC's but I havent heard of CyberPower or iBuyPower PC's before so I am tentative to purchasing one until I get some feedback on them.

Newegg.com - Gaming, Discount Item, Desktop PCs, Desktop PCs, PCs & Laptops

Thats the link to the page with the towers I was thinking about getting, I was wondering if one of the cheaper ones would be ok for what I want to do with them or if I would have to get one of the more expensive ones.

Thanks for your help.
__________________

rufio29 is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 10:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: New Computer

Whats the budget exactly?
What is your current computer if it freezes whilst alt-tabbing Warcraft3 then you probably need to do some clean up not buy a new computer. My 5 year old laptop can play Warcraft 3 with mid-settings and have itunes and firefox open in the background.
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 11:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 14
Default Re: New Computer

I want to try to keep it under a grand if possible. My current computer is an HP, it has 512 MB of RAM and like 120 GB of hard drive. It has always moved kind of slow. I got a virus trying to get an Diablo II CD key from downloading a keygen somewhere and I have used every virus cleanup program I have had suggested and I am still having some troubles.

That's not the reason i am getting a new one though, I kind of want one, I don't know much about computers but I always figured my problem came from the 512 MB of RAM but I never really knew.

Do you think it's unecessary to buy a new computer for the applications for which I use it?
rufio29 is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 11:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Space Ninja Pirate
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Winona, MN
Posts: 586
Default Re: New Computer

Could you tell us a little more about the computer you are currently using like processor and GPU?
__________________
TheDiceman is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 11:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: New Computer

Yes its unnecessary for the applications you use. If you can't get rid of a virus with all the latest virus checkers then reinstalll windows simple to do and will make you machine 10x faster. I would also upgrade the Ram to 1gb at the least or 2 gbs. If you give us the model number of the current pc we can give you hand choosing suitable components. This will also help ith deciding whether you actually need to upgrade. I know that deep craving of wanting something new I find it irresistable normally.

For a grande you would be better off building your own its not hard about 20 screws and your done. Will save you quite a bit of money and you will know more about what is in your computer so will be able to fix problems yourself. We can help you choosing hardware if your a little under confident and answer all your questions, its what the majority of people on these forums do is offer help to people wanting to build there own pcs.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 12:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 14
Default Re: New Computer

I will have to check when I get home from work in about an hour to see what I have exactly because I am not sure. I almost forgot, i am also going to want to run Diablo III whenever it comes out, but I don't know if that is going to require more than I have or not, I'll post those other things soon and if you guys can help me out that'd be awesome.
rufio29 is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 01:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 14
Default Re: New Computer

My computer is a hp pavilion a520n.
rufio29 is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 01:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: New Computer

Its not worth upgrading the Ram as its DDR when most computers are the newer DDR2 and the two aren't compatible. The graphics slots is and old design standard and again not worth upgrading and the cpu is again old socket standard. However that pc should run Warcraft 3 very well. The system requirements have not been announced yet. Its a completely upto you thing as you don't really need a new computer but you may still want it. Either way you go we can help you choose a new comp or clean up your current one so its a bit faster.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 10:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: New Computer

If you get a new computer make sure to get a GPU in the 200$~ price range, a decent Core2Duo, and 2~4 Gigs of DDR2 Ram. That should allow your computer to handle any and all games out there (as of right now).
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 10-29-2008, 10:34 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 14
Default Re: New Computer

So can I like "custom make" a computer on NewEgg just by picking all these parts and they make it or are you guys saying that it would really be best for me to get all these parts and physically put them together. I understand it might be 20 screws easy or something but is it really easy enough that I could do it even though right now I have 0 knowledge about the inside for a computer?
__________________

rufio29 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with a gaming computer Consequences New Systems | Building and Buying 20 07-22-2008 03:04 AM
Need Video Card, Case, Mouse and Keyboard Suggestions r3vo1ution1991 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-06-2008 08:47 PM
Computer won't Load narmerguy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 01-08-2008 08:19 AM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM
New Computer. Same Issues Duality Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-01-2007 10:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.