New Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2007, 02:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to politikiL Send a message via MSN to politikiL Send a message via Yahoo to politikiL
Default New Computer

I am planning on building a new computer and I already have the parts I want... What do you think of these ?

Motherboard: EVGA NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz (OCing to 3.9ghz)
RAM: CORSAIR XMS2 1GB (Maybe 2GB)
Video Card: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB 320-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16
Hard Drive: Western Digital 320GB x2

Thanks.
__________________

politikiL is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 07:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 195
Default Re: New Computer

Looks powerful to me

ps.2GB RAM would be even better.
__________________

johnyB_24 is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 07:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New Computer

Lookin' good, but get G. Skill for ram instead. It's better for overclocking.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 10:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to politikiL Send a message via MSN to politikiL Send a message via Yahoo to politikiL
Default Re: New Computer

Sweet thanks guys.

I found this website called ebuyer.com and they had CORSAIR XMS2 2GB for only $195.00 Corsair 2GB Kit (2x1GB) DDR2 PC2-8500/1066MHz (TWIN2X2048-8500C5D) CL 5-5-5-15 Dominator

Is that a good price for RAM ? They also have cheap video cards. ( I don't know if I should trust that website )
politikiL is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 10:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: New Computer

NO! That is not a good price for ram in the least. Completely unneeded...

There are better sites for the UK out there but i just forget right now haha
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 10:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to politikiL Send a message via MSN to politikiL Send a message via Yahoo to politikiL
Default Re: New Computer

UK ? Oh crap. I didn't know that website was in the UK. I need websites in the USA that are cheap. :X lol.
politikiL is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 12:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 273
Default Re: New Computer

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
mrfluffles is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 12:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: New Computer

Thats the stuff you want actually almost just as good as that dominator you posted earlier hehe
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 12:38 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,665
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: New Computer

Make sure u got a good power supply, it'd suck majorly if all that didnt function at max capacity!
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 03:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to politikiL Send a message via MSN to politikiL Send a message via Yahoo to politikiL
Default Re: New Computer

Will a 500W work ?
__________________

politikiL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
Computer crash Mr. tech Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-06-2007 10:43 AM
New Computer. Same Issues Duality Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-01-2007 10:54 PM
Computer + TV? blackhawk13 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 03-29-2007 12:15 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.