A New Computer - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2006, 12:56 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 20
Default

Yeh it is a Socket 478.
__________________

Computernoober is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 01:14 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

my first computer i ever built was last year and it was a socket 478. That computer only lasted me 2 months then the whole computer fried. Thats when i switched to AMD and never had any bad computers from them.
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 01:51 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

You don't need a 1000watt PSU...for those components you listed, a 500-watt PSU would run them.

The GFX card seems like a bit much, a 7900GT or X1900 would run literally anything for less money. There is a 7900GT for sale on the forum for $200 with extra's, or you can get it alone for $199 after rebates on Newegg.

Motherboard is a little pricey, you don't need one that's $250. Try getting a cheaper one.

If you need high-performance RAM, than your pick is okay. But I've always used Value RAM and it has worked great.

Also don't skimp on the processor, get at least Core 2 Duo E6600.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 02:27 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Yeah that 1000w PSU is a total waste of money. If a 1000w PSU costs less than $550 then you can bet beyond a reasonable doubt that it's a piece of crap.
The General is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 03:05 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

Imagine how good of a computer that would be though. Thats got to be about 10 times as fast as my 3rd build cause of the graphics card.
Norcent is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 03:19 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 20
Default

Awsome great comments guys i think im starting to figure out exactly what im going to get ill reply with my next build soon.
Computernoober is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 03:44 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 20
Default

Ok so here it is:

XFX PVT71GUQF3 GeForce 7900GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150216


--------------------------

Kingston 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820134046

--------------------------

ASUS P5N-E SLI Socket T (LGA 775) NVIDIA nForce 650i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131142

----------------------------------------
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz LGA 775 Processor Model BX80557E6600 - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/product/Produc...82E16819115003

---------------------------------------

COOLMAX CUG-700B ATX 12V( V.2.2) 700W Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/product/Produc...82E16817159058

------------------------------

Total: $999.96


What do you think?
Computernoober is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 03:58 PM   #18 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

Skip the 650i chipset. NVIDIA brought it out before it was ready, and sorta left it there.

As for PSUs, check out these:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104022
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103933

While the E6600 is great, the 6400 or 6300 are also good (and with a better price). the 6600 has a larger cache, but 2MB ain't nothing to sneeze at in the 6300 and 6400... plus both can overclock very well.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 04:01 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 20
Default

I got a 50$ combo discount with the power supply and the intel core2 duo.

and what mobo would u recomend then?
Computernoober is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 04:14 PM   #20 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

Discounts are good!

ASUS P5B-VM:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131043

GIGABYTE GA-965P-DS3:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128012
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.