New Computer - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2006, 09:46 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 202
Default

You'd be better off getting 1, 1gb stick so you can get another later.
__________________

__________________
CPU - E6400 Core 2 Duo @ 3.2ghz
Cooling - Zalman CNPS9500
Motherboard - Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Memory - OCZ PC2-8000 Platinum XTC 2GB (2x1024MB)
Video - BFG 8800 GTX OC
DVD - LG Super Multi
HD - WD Raptor 36gb
HD2 - Maxtor Diamondmax 10 250gb
PSU - Corsair HX Series CMPSU-620HX 620W
Case - Cooler Master Centurion 5
Sound - Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS
iamchel is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 12:22 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 29
Default

Sounds like a nice system.
__________________

reggiewolf is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 12:30 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 230
Default

Looking good, but get this ram instead... actually cheaper but faster ram.

G.skill DDR2-800 PC-6400 1Gb (1 stick) $119.99
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231085

or if you're wanting dual channel ram, get this
Geil DDR2-800 PC-6400 1Gb (512MB x2)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820144020

And come on man, spend the extra 15-20 bucks for a 250gb hdd...
__________________
C2D E6600 @ 3.15ghz w/ 1.35 vcore
Abit AW9D-MAX
Scythe Infinity
2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12)
XFX 7600GT xXx
Silverstone Tj-06
Drizo is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 01:46 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 17
Default

Is that ram compatable with this board. I've read about many problems people have had with this board and the ram they boiught for it.

Does anyone have this board or know aobut it? Like or Dislike?
Hagendogg is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 01:49 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 230
Default

Newegg shows the board is DDR2-800 standard... should work fine imho. Search google or look for the mobo's manufacture support forum and search for ram compatibility.
__________________
C2D E6600 @ 3.15ghz w/ 1.35 vcore
Abit AW9D-MAX
Scythe Infinity
2GB G.Skill DDR2-800 (4-4-4-12)
XFX 7600GT xXx
Silverstone Tj-06
Drizo is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 07:33 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Hagendogg


Tell me what you guys think of that? You all seem to have AMD pc's but it sounds like you guys like Intel. Is this all compatable and should i change out anything? I want to oder VERY soon. Thanks!
I don't like Intel at all but that doesnt change the fact that their latest processors (core 2 duo) blow AMD completely out of the water... With out a trace.
THe buget model Conroe (allendale, whatever) overclocked outperforms AMDs flagship model the FX62, and for your budget you cant even afford the CPU of an FX62 system never mind the rest of the computer.

AMDs for a budget system are fine, but if theres anyway you can stretch to a Core 2 duo then its your only sensible option.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 09-28-2006, 02:59 AM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 59
Default

whatever you get, get 2 sticks of RAM otherwise you dual channel will not work properly, and will cause slightly slower preformance. Duo is the way to go, and this is coming from a hardcore AMD user. Trust me you wont regret it. ALSO: get aftermarket cooling for that Duo if you decide on that route. those things can get hot as **** if not kept in check. (the Zalman 9500 is a great air cooling choice. Water cooling can wait till you have more budget. IF you care about it that much)
Reaver is offline  
Old 09-28-2006, 07:00 AM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

Even if you are a AMD man get Core 2 Duo... I belive you want more power than just a name... Listen The budget E6300 will kick all the X2's even the 5000+ when overclocked... The core 2 duo can get to 4.0 Ghz with stock cooling... But go Amd if you want but you will regret it when a friend or sum1 gets a core 2 duo system and you see that it kicks butt.... I myself was a AMD man but having demo'ed the Core 2 Duo I have realised that it is alot better than any other CPU...

What makes the Core 2 Duo so fast is the FSB and the Cache... The Fsb of the Core 2 Duo is 1066Mhz and a Cache of 2Mb per core... I belive the X2 you want to get has 512 Kb cache per core... And the E6600, E6700 and X6800 Xtreme has 4Mb cache per core. The prices are significantly better too... Well people have to admit to themself that Intel are the Gaming Cpu manurfactor now
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 10:58 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 30
Default

looks good to me
__________________

JamezKangster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.