New Comp & Card Not working - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2007, 10:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 52
Default New Comp & Card Not working

I just bought this piece of junk computer

http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/pro...gon=&langid=EN

along with a BFG geforce 7950 GT OC video card... Of course i didnt realize that the card required a 350W psu minimum, and of course, my piece of junk computer comes with a crappy bestec 300W supply... Anyways, I went ahead and plugged in the card and all that and tried to fire up the computer... No display on the monitor. No display through either the card or the integrated VGA output. When i take the card out, I have video again. What I'm wondering is whether or not the card will work even if I have a decent PSU. It would really suck to order a PSU and have to return everything.

Thanks
__________________

joelminns is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 10:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

The card will work if it has enough juice. You will have to disable the onboard video in the BIOS when you get ready to go with the card.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 01-06-2007, 10:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 52
Default

So if I disable the onboard video through the bios, the card might work with the 300W PSU? Or will I have to disable the onboard video even if I have a decent PSU? I don't ever recall having to do this before.

PS: Are Dynex PSU's good? bad? ugly?
joelminns is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 11:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 18
Default

Yeah it might work buy I would strongly suggest you to get a new PSU first. Try Antec or Thermaltake.
600MHZ is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 11:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

If it doesn't work, you can always take it back. Dynex is carried by Best Buy, but I don't know the manufacturer.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 01-07-2007, 12:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 52
Default

OK, so I went out and bought a 500W PSU. I hooked it up and everything works fine without the new video card... When i install the new card, there is still no video. Is it mandatory to disable the onboard video for the new video card to work? Am i missing something here? Or is this computer just doomed to be unable to play games?

Thanks for your help.
joelminns is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 01:42 AM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Disable it in Device Manager, then disable it in the BIOS. It ought to work then.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 01-07-2007, 03:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 52
Default

thanks folks. I just set the primary video adapter to PCI-E rather than PCI within the BIOS. Not sure if thats what you all meant by disable the onboard vid.

Thanks
joelminns is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 03:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

This happend to me when i tried to install a USB 2.0 and Firewire card... It would not post, funny thing is a plugged my monitor into DVI and reset the bios and it worked.. try that
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 01-07-2007, 04:34 AM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Lots of options in the BIOS. That's what worked with my old card in my old computer, going from onboard to a GFX card.

My DFI doesn't have onboard, so I don't have those options.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.