new cheap build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2006, 07:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 131
Default new cheap build

i wanted to get a cheap pc to make up my small home network. the specs are:

AMD Sempron 3000+ 1.8GHz (754)
MSI K8MM-V / Gigabyte K8VM800M (which ever is better)
Kingston 256MB PC3200 400MHz
80GB Western Digital Caviar 7200rpm 8MB HDD
Sony 52X CD-Rom Drive
Cheap ATx Casing

Would these work together and roughly how much can i get it for.
__________________

m6qrp is offline  
Old 07-24-2006, 08:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
0tz
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 196
Default

What will you use for that pc for your small home network?
And what is your budget?
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Venice
MSI K8N Neo4-F
Palit Geforce 6200TC 256Mb
2x512Mb SS Corsair Value Select
160Gb Seagate SATA

http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/t...alamandoti.png
0tz is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 07:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 131
Default

i just plan to do some internet surfing and word processing. My budget is less then 250 US.
m6qrp is offline  
Old 07-25-2006, 08:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

you would need more ram... 512 is good enough...
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 12:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 164
Default

if you can get a athlon, something like a 3000+.
__________________
AMD 3500+
1GB PC3200
ASUS Motherboard
WD 80GB
7900GT 256
goblue14 is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 05:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

im not sure about US pricing but 250 sounds a bit cheap to me
i hkn ull be lucky to get that for 250 (unless u already have a monitor and windows) then u may just get away with it
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 11:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 131
Default

yeah, i have an extra monitor and a few old os lying around.
__________________

m6qrp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.