new case??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-05-2006, 05:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Default new case???

i own an HP media center pc, and i was curious if i could purchase a different case with no ill effect.
__________________

Mike Belcik is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 06:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 15
Default Re: new case???

Quote:
Originally posted by Mike Belcik
i own an HP media center pc, and i was curious if i could purchase a different case with no ill effect.
Correct me if I'm wrong but it should make no difference.

As long as the case isn't too small and it isn't a case that is more susceptible to heat. If the old case has case fans I would suggest putting them or new ones on the new case. It can never be too cool :P

But if you are buying a new case to replace the one that came with the computer I'm sure that you would not have these issues.
__________________

Durnberg is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 06:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 101
Default

As long as the computer is using the same form factor (ATX, BTX, etc.) as the case you buy, then you should be fine. For instance, it would be hard to put a Mac mini in any computer case, because it doesn't really follow any mainstream specification.

Other than that, Durnberg covered the possible issues.
__________________
Come join the Expiration Date Forums! Discussion boards for everything from lucid dreaming to movies & TV to webcomics, and more!
visionRAY is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 07:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

u dont really need to replace a case dude, unless u have unbelievably hot temperatures, and for that they have fans, and liquid cooling systems.
john3 is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 07:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

As VisionRay said, make sure that before you buy a case, you need to find out if the form factor of the HP motherboard is a standard format, or proprietary. I know that some OEM's have proprietary form's, and you won't be able to get the hardware in without modification to the motherboard tray.

Rather than call HP support, you could probably call Best Buy, Circuit City, or CompUSA and see if they can confirm if your model PC has a standard form factor motherboard.

If this is your first time putting hardware in a new case, know that you can NEVER ASK TOO MANY QUESTIONS... better to be sure and doublecheck than be sorry, and lose a component because you missed a step.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 07:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by john3
u dont really need to replace a case dude, unless u have unbelievably hot temperatures, and for that they have fans, and liquid cooling systems.
He could just be changing the case for the outside appearance.....those beige cases can get kind of boring....

Change the case, it wont make a difference. Just make sure you have the same form factor mobo with case. i.e., dont buy a Micro-ATX case and then find out that you have an ATX mobo, it wont work. If you plan on upgrading anything in the comp, make sure you get a better psu because those HP/dell ones are quite lacking.
thebleakness is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 09:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Default

[QUOTE]Originally posted by thebleakness
[B]He could just be changing the case for the outside appearance.....those beige cases can get kind of boring....

absolutely : ) I will be sure to contact best buy and check up on the form factor. thanks for your help guys. i appreciate it.
__________________

Mike Belcik is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.