New Build wont load windows - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2005, 01:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 83
Default New Build wont load windows

When my new build starts up, I can see the hard drive listed but windows goes to install after a few minutes it says windows did not detect a hard drive f3 to exit.

When I start the pc up, I do here one beep, that also indicates no master drive detected. however I do see the hdd listed when I start the pc Shows (Channel 0 Master WD 250 sata 1)

I see it listed as the pc starts, also dont see any response out of the floppy drive either. I have double checked all the conections.

The board is a ASUS, Hard Drive is a WD Sata 250.
any help would be greatly appreciated
__________________

dennykyser is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 02:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

Does your mobo come with this floppy that says RAID drivers? Try booting from that.
__________________

__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 02:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 83
Default

No, MOBO only came with CD, I also cant get my floppy to do anything, not sure if its because have not loaded windows or what, but cant format a disk or anything.

the computer is naming the DVD drive as A:
dennykyser is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 06:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 111
Default

You have to load SATA drivers or Windows can't see it. (SATA came out after XP, you know.)
__________________
The box said \"Requires Windows 98 or better\"....so I installed Linux. There\'s no going back.
GX1_Man is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 09:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 83
Default

I did not know Sata came out after windows XP, I am very new to building PC's incase you cant tell

How can I load Sata drivers, where can I get them I will have to load from a CD Rom because thats the only drive the bios is picking up so far.
dennykyser is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 09:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 83
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GX1_Man
You have to load SATA drivers or Windows can't see it. (SATA came out after XP, you know.)
I just remembered, the last pc I built I used 3 sata hard drives and it booted up fine? This was with an Intel MOBO instead of an asus if that makes a diferance.
__________________

dennykyser is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.