New build trips circuit breaker - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-08-2009, 09:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Default New build trips circuit breaker

I'm putting together my first homebuilt computer. had everything setup correctly (I think). Went to turn it on for the first time and the circuit breaker tripped.

I reset the breaker, only connected the minimum necessary to start. The 20+4 power and the 4+4 12v. Tried again, same result.

The only thing connected are the cpu w/fan and 4 ram. I have a video card in the slot, but disconnected the power. I also have the connections for the power/hdd light/led light connected.

What I do is plug in the psu, turn on the power switch on the psu and then when I press the power button on the front of the case, it trips right away. One time, it took about a second to trip. The CPU fan ran for about a second and then trip.

I don't think I'm overloading the circuit with normal use since I use the same plug for the vacuum cleaner and it doesn't trip.

One thing is the 12v connection has connections with the square ends and the rounded ends and it's impossible to get everything to line up with the power supply. The power supply connection consists of two 4 pin connections side by side and they're right next to each other so there's no way to reverse them and the clips line up with the clips on the motherboard, so there's only one reasonable way to connect it, but the reasonable way results in squares in rounded holes and vice versa.

This is my system (from NewEgg)

2 x LOGISYS 120MM4LED CASE FAN CF120BL

1 x HD 750G|SAMG 7K 32M SATA2 HD753LJ

1 x PSU ROSEWILL|RG630-2 630W

2 x MEM 2Gx2|GSK F3-10600CL9D-4GBNT

1 x MB ASROCK|P55 PRO

1 x VGA XFX|HD-487A-ZWFC HD4870 1G

1 x DVD BURN SONY-NEC|AD-7241S-0B

I haven't had an opportunity to try another psu. I can probably do this today.

Anyone have any suggestions for me to troubleshoot?
__________________

KidHorn is offline  
Old 10-08-2009, 12:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: New build trips circuit breaker

Post some close-up pictures please.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 10-08-2009, 01:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: New build trips circuit breaker

My guesses would be:
1. Faulty power supply
2. Something is shorting out (did you use standoffs for the motherboard?)
3. Perhaps the PSU voltage switch is set incorrectly.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-08-2009, 02:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: New build trips circuit breaker

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitestick View Post
My guesses would be:
1. Faulty power supply
2. Something is shorting out (did you use standoffs for the motherboard?)
3. Perhaps the PSU voltage switch is set incorrectly.
1. That would be my guess too. I'll swap in another that I know works.
2. Yes. Need to determine where the short is occurring. I used standoffs. It must be either the PSU or MB.
3. There is no voltage setting on PSU. Or at least I didn't see one . I can double check tonight.
KidHorn is offline  
Old 10-08-2009, 02:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: New build trips circuit breaker

What else is plugged into that breaker? Its quite possible you are just drawing too much amperage from that circuit.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-08-2009, 03:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: New build trips circuit breaker

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
What else is plugged into that breaker? Its quite possible you are just drawing too much amperage from that circuit.
Last night it was a couple of overhead lights that use CFC bulbs and a PS3. Like I said in my original post, I use the plug when I vacuum and it never trips a breaker. Sometimes the vacuum is running and at the same time a 52" RPTV is running off the same circuit. I also have a treadmill that runs off the same circuit. It wasn't running last night. I think there must be a short.
KidHorn is offline  
Old 10-08-2009, 04:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: New build trips circuit breaker

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
What else is plugged into that breaker? Its quite possible you are just drawing too much amperage from that circuit.
well if the house was built after the 1960's then most likely it has 15 amp breaker. and if the 15 amp breaker in my house that provides electricity to me and 3 other rooms in my house and even when my sister uses her hair dryer with my pc on it still does not trip it then that one should not too. so i doubt it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitestick View Post
My guesses would be:
1. Faulty power supply
2. Something is shorting out (did you use standoffs for the motherboard?)
3. Perhaps the PSU voltage switch is set incorrectly.
yes this is my guess too. most likely a bad psu, especially since roswwill is not a hig quality psu maker.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 10-09-2009, 07:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: New build trips circuit breaker

I tested with the PSU from another computer last night and it looks like a faulty PSU. The Rosewill tripped on 2 different computers while the good PSU worked on both.

I'm going to ask for a refund from NewEgg. I think they charge a 15% fee for a refund and it will cost $12 to ship back, but from now on, I think i'll buy heavy, prone to failure things from my local Microcenter. It typically costs more, but it's much easier to swap a bad one. I learned a lesson for about $20. About the same as not getting a rebate.

I have my eye on a 700w OCZ on sale for $90.
KidHorn is offline  
Old 10-09-2009, 08:55 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: New build trips circuit breaker

Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V &#47; EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Power Supplies

If it is truly a faulty psu newegg should do a RMA for you free of charge if it was purchased recently.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 10-09-2009, 10:28 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: New build trips circuit breaker

yep, if the psu is bad, newegg will usually let you return it and if you ask nicely they'll reimburse you for shipping it back.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need advice on 1st time budget build Dudeman System Upgrades 6 04-12-2009 06:29 PM
$1000 CAD Build xxfirexx New Systems | Building and Buying 15 03-12-2009 05:00 PM
Windows 7 Build 7000 Beta Review KSoD Official TF Reviews 11 02-15-2009 01:33 PM
First PC build, any help appreciated. relapserebel System Upgrades 16 01-29-2009 01:02 PM
First post - First build - HT/Media/Multi-Task Build Reco's? delirium330 New Systems | Building and Buying 60 01-12-2009 03:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.