New build, no picture on startup help!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-13-2006, 09:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1
Default New build, no picture on startup help!!

hi everyone! im building a computer for my sister for work

i have all the parts and whe i start it up i dont get a picture

i built my first computer a while ago when AGP was the standard so im thinking i did somethign wrong with the PCI-E setup.

currently i have these components:

Case: Antec Sonata2
mobo: Sapphire PC-A9RD580Adv Xpress3200
Video: Sapphire X1800XT
CPU: AMD 64 3700+
Memory: 1 gig of Corsair CMX1024 3200c2Pro
Hard Drive 320gig western Digital SATA drive
DVD burner: Liteon SHM-165H6s

and a copy of win XP home

just random thoughts down here~

i did plug in the PCI-E power connecter to the video card

on the top of the motherbord (in the book) theres a PWR1-12V Power connector which it is labled in the book.
its a 8 slot power connecter but theres nothing like that on my power supply to plug into there

i'm really not sure what is wrong, any help would be great, thanks!

if anyone has AIM and would like to help me trouble shoot over that(2 computers), that would be great
my AIM name is ChickMagnet753 =)

thanks again!!

poontime is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 10:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475

You need a PSU with EPS (8 pin)

This one is good:

Try using the 4 pin for it and see if that works if you can't get a new PSU.

turtile is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 02:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 336

not really help, but i feel it needs to be said

nice aim name lol


And above all else this, to thine own self be true.
Phate is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 03:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475

The 8-pin is EPS, therefore - use a powersupply (like I posted above) that has the power connector.

You may also be able to use the P4 power plug and only fill half the plug (I would go with the 8 pin though)

What AIM name?
turtile is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 04:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Elbatrop1's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057

the 4pin worked for now, ill look into her buying a new PSU like one from the antec HE line because of the nice cable management they have being able to get rid of the wires you dont use.

one question tho, what would be the down side to only using the 4 pin (that works) instead of upgrading to a 8 pin?

thanks for the reply
Is what poontime meant to say, instead of reporting the post.

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.