New build monitor not working - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2008, 02:30 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: STL, MO
Posts: 134
Send a message via AIM to nastsystems
Default Re: New build monitor not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
No problem =).
i auctually dont know if it was that the ram cards were not in tightly. i auctually think that it was bad ram or something along that line! could that have been the problem?
__________________

nastsystems is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 02:42 PM   #12 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: New build monitor not working

Well, it's possible.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 03:05 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: STL, MO
Posts: 134
Send a message via AIM to nastsystems
Default Re: New build monitor not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Well, it's possible.
because what happened was one of my ram cards started to burn up and i took it out and then i got on here and read what you told me and i just switched out the ram and then the monitor was working! what does it sound like to you?
nastsystems is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 03:47 PM   #14 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: New build monitor not working

What do you mean exactly by 'burn up'? If all you did was swap out the RAM, then yeah, it could be that that RAM stick was bad. If you really want to test it, just put that single stick in a RAM slot, and then try to boot up. If it is bad, then just RMA it.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 03:48 PM   #15 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: New build monitor not working

It started to burn up?
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 04:00 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: STL, MO
Posts: 134
Send a message via AIM to nastsystems
Default Re: New build monitor not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
What do you mean exactly by 'burn up'? If all you did was swap out the RAM, then yeah, it could be that that RAM stick was bad. If you really want to test it, just put that single stick in a RAM slot, and then try to boot up. If it is bad, then just RMA it.
i mean it litteraly burnt up! there is a burn mark on one of the ram sticks where you plug it in at! and pus started to come out! like when i turned my computer on i smelt something weird so i shut it off and i put my hand over the cpu and then the ram and it was really hot over the ram sticks so i took them out, they were s hot as can be and i looked at the one and it was burnt! i dont know what the heck happened and i cant think of any thing that would cause it or anything but yea! thats what happened! so i dont even want to risk putting it back in the computer to find out what happenes next! anyways i already broke it in half so i know not to use it again! but i guess ill just stick with the ram that i have in there now well for now at least because it is working fine! and it will work ok untill i buy my new motherboard and cpu and everything because i was planing on buying all new parts for it soon anyways!!

but thanks anyways!
nastsystems is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 04:04 PM   #17 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: New build monitor not working

How old are you?

And if your memory has pus coming out of it... that, thats just wrong...
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 04:07 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: STL, MO
Posts: 134
Send a message via AIM to nastsystems
Default Re: New build monitor not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by aspire.comptech View Post
How old are you?

And if your memory has pus coming out of it... that, thats just wrong...
im 17 why?
how old are you?
nastsystems is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 04:13 PM   #19 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: New build monitor not working

19, just curious...
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 03-17-2008, 04:15 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: STL, MO
Posts: 134
Send a message via AIM to nastsystems
Default Re: New build monitor not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by aspire.comptech View Post
19, just curious...
oh ok.
where do you live?
__________________

nastsystems is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
semi-final build plan (with some issues) plz giv input Cheeseking25 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 10-15-2007 10:03 PM
Domain Controller and SQL server Build abadjay New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-05-2007 08:39 AM
suggestions before i build levon11 System Upgrades 3 09-25-2007 08:45 AM
Critique (and help with) My Build! aetherh4cker New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-19-2007 03:34 PM
Sound not working techn00bie Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 04-11-2007 09:33 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.