New build...er kinda :) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2009, 06:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pyrothrillah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South of you
Posts: 464
Default

Ok guys this is the deal, about...err 3 maye knocking on 4 years ago I had planned on building an up to date gaming system. At the time it was fairly nice, spend about $1000 on the tower and componets.

Anywho to make a long story short I put it all together, fired it up and didn't get anything more than fans firing up and a nice light show. I just put it aside and haven't messed with it until recently because I'm in need of a computer like badly.

I am pretty sure that I bought the wrong RAM for the mobo maybe? Maybe the vid card was a dud? This is my first time to actually build a computer so any help would be greatly appreciated. I will list the specs the best I can for not being at home near them

Viper Case
120G Seagate HD
EVGA 7900GT
A8N32 Deluxe SLI mobo
Corsair 2G of pc3200 ram (I think)
Athlon 64X2 3200

Anyways, yeah. I've never been able to get video output out of this thing and I feel completely stupid for wasting all of that money and never putting this thing together. I have been out of the computer thing for awhile and I just want to be up and running playing up to date games as well as possible. I play WOW for the most part and want something going that will handle anything in the game.

Also, let me know how bad out of date I am here. I looked at video cards last night watching demos on like the 280 FX I think and whatnot. I know the EVGA 7900GT was an awesome card back then and now I see on ebay people selling them for like 20 bucks lol.

Thanks guys.
-Bill

Also, I forgot to mention that I have Windows XP new in box. So I don't need an OS.

I'm looking for a cheap, fast way to get this computer going.
__________________

__________________
Follow My Twitch Stream
Buy Discounted PC Games and more!
Free Amazon Prime 30-Day Trial

New build as of 3/5/2014
--------------------------
Intel Core i7-4930K Ivy Bridge-E 3.4GHz
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Corsair h100i Liquid CPU Cooler
G.SKILL RipJaws 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3 1600
ASUS Sabertooth X79 LGA 2011
Corsair 540 Case
Corsair AX850 Professional Series Modular PSU
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit for System Builders


<---- If you feel sorry for me, or either I helped you - throw me some rep :D
Pyrothrillah is offline  
Old 03-16-2009, 06:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: New build...er kinda :)

Is it semi put together right now? Did you plug both power plugs into the motherboard and the extra power plug into the video card?

Reseat your RAM, reseat your video card. Try booting with just one stick of ram. Try the ram in different slots. Do you hear any post beeps? Make sure your front panel connection are plugged in properly most notably the power switch one.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-16-2009, 06:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pyrothrillah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South of you
Posts: 464
Default Re: New build...er kinda :)

I've placed the RAM into the appropriate channel seats (DIMMA1+DIMMB1) or whatever and nothing, tried just one stick in the DIMMB1 seat (manual says to use that slot when not pairing RAM) and nothing still. I'm going to look further into the power situation. The CPU is set on....115? I believe.

Could this be due to the fact that the ram I am using is not the right kind?

And stupid me just knocked a little cylinder type thing off my video card, I have another, way older geforce card for video I guess I can use. Good thing that card is only like 20 bucks now
__________________
Follow My Twitch Stream
Buy Discounted PC Games and more!
Free Amazon Prime 30-Day Trial

New build as of 3/5/2014
--------------------------
Intel Core i7-4930K Ivy Bridge-E 3.4GHz
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Corsair h100i Liquid CPU Cooler
G.SKILL RipJaws 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3 1600
ASUS Sabertooth X79 LGA 2011
Corsair 540 Case
Corsair AX850 Professional Series Modular PSU
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit for System Builders


<---- If you feel sorry for me, or either I helped you - throw me some rep :D
Pyrothrillah is offline  
Old 03-16-2009, 07:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: New build...er kinda :)

Here is the RAM QVL for your motherboard.
http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/...Deluxe_QVL.pdf

There are a ton of corsiar Ram types on there so you should be fine. It fully supports ddr400 (pc3200).

Try your other video card.

Do you hear any post beeps?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-16-2009, 09:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pyrothrillah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South of you
Posts: 464
Default

Well I remember the code having 64 in it so I think I screwed up.
I'm pretty sure its like notebook ram or something.
And I got a beep awhile ago, then I started it again and got a two beep.

I'm about to look for the code on that and see what the deal is. I'm having another problem now with the power. It was not wanting to fire up and started shorting out on me. I'm thinking I may be having problems with my PSU. I hate to think that it's a pretty nice one like a Rosewill 1000W

Ok I found my order history. This is what all I have.


EVGA 256-P2-N565-AX GeForce 7900GT 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 SLI Supported Video Card - Retail
Item #: N82E16814130282

2 CORSAIR ValueSelect 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Desktop Memory Model VS1GB400C3 - Retail
Item #: N82E16820145505 $133.00
($66.50 ea)

1 AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Manchester 2.0GHz Socket 939 Dual-Core Processor Model ADA3800BVBOX - Retail
Item #: N82E16819103562

Rosewill RP550 550W ATX V1.3/ EPS12V Power Supply - Retail
Item #: N82E16817182010

Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 ST3120827AS 120GB 7200 RPM SATA 1.5Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
Item #: N82E16822148039
__________________
Follow My Twitch Stream
Buy Discounted PC Games and more!
Free Amazon Prime 30-Day Trial

New build as of 3/5/2014
--------------------------
Intel Core i7-4930K Ivy Bridge-E 3.4GHz
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Corsair h100i Liquid CPU Cooler
G.SKILL RipJaws 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3 1600
ASUS Sabertooth X79 LGA 2011
Corsair 540 Case
Corsair AX850 Professional Series Modular PSU
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit for System Builders


<---- If you feel sorry for me, or either I helped you - throw me some rep :D
Pyrothrillah is offline  
Old 03-16-2009, 09:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: New build...er kinda :)

that ram looks to be compatible with your mobo.

does your computer do any thing when you press the button.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 03-16-2009, 10:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pyrothrillah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South of you
Posts: 464
Default Re: New build...er kinda :)

Yeah I mean it fires up, HD starts doing it's thing (it's actually very quiet I had to listen closely to hear it) and everything SEEMS like it should be right.

My CPU is set on 115 and I have everything plugged in right as far I know.

Don't slap me if this is a stupid question, but do I need the molex plugged into the HD? Cause I looked for it earlier and didn't see it. I have the power and SATA cables hooked up.

I can't keep up with this new technology now. I'm more of a ribbons guy.
__________________
Follow My Twitch Stream
Buy Discounted PC Games and more!
Free Amazon Prime 30-Day Trial

New build as of 3/5/2014
--------------------------
Intel Core i7-4930K Ivy Bridge-E 3.4GHz
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Corsair h100i Liquid CPU Cooler
G.SKILL RipJaws 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3 1600
ASUS Sabertooth X79 LGA 2011
Corsair 540 Case
Corsair AX850 Professional Series Modular PSU
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit for System Builders


<---- If you feel sorry for me, or either I helped you - throw me some rep :D
Pyrothrillah is offline  
Old 03-22-2009, 08:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pyrothrillah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South of you
Posts: 464
Default Re: New build...er kinda :)

Bump...
__________________
Follow My Twitch Stream
Buy Discounted PC Games and more!
Free Amazon Prime 30-Day Trial

New build as of 3/5/2014
--------------------------
Intel Core i7-4930K Ivy Bridge-E 3.4GHz
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Corsair h100i Liquid CPU Cooler
G.SKILL RipJaws 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3 1600
ASUS Sabertooth X79 LGA 2011
Corsair 540 Case
Corsair AX850 Professional Series Modular PSU
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit for System Builders


<---- If you feel sorry for me, or either I helped you - throw me some rep :D
Pyrothrillah is offline  
Old 03-22-2009, 08:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: New build...er kinda :)

SATA drives use a SATA plug, not a molex. Here's a pic of an adapter so you can see what the end of it looks like...



Your PSU has SATA ends on it:

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-22-2009, 08:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: New build...er kinda :)

It was longer than 24 hours so it is OK, Ryan. Under 24 hours should be edited into the earlier post as 24 hours is the time window for editing posts.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 Build 7000 Beta Review KSoD Official TF Reviews 11 02-15-2009 01:33 PM
First PC build, any help appreciated. relapserebel System Upgrades 16 01-29-2009 01:02 PM
First post - First build - HT/Media/Multi-Task Build Reco's? delirium330 New Systems | Building and Buying 60 01-12-2009 03:07 PM
First Computer Build: Newb Need Advice djc122984 System Upgrades 15 12-31-2008 07:59 AM
New computer build - opinions wanted Khrysus New Systems | Building and Buying 44 12-07-2008 11:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.