New Build, Black Screen on Startup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2009, 08:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4
Default New Build, Black Screen on Startup

Hey everyone, I just built my first computer and just as my friends told me, it was not without issues. Long story short, I have replaced some hardware and fixed all the issues except for one. When I press the power button everything turns on; lights start flashing and the fans on everything start whirling about, but the screen is black. The monitor is getting a signal because if it doesnt then a little message appears on the screen saying that there is no input.

Over the last month I have changed out the memory, video card... twice, and psu just in case. Still left with a black/blank screen. Please help me get this thing working!

Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3.0GHz
EVGA 750sli
8GB DDR2 RAM
EVGA GTX 260
1TB sata WD hdd
LG BluRay/ DVD-RW
APEVIA Warlock 1100W
__________________

my454whoha is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 10:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: New Build, Black Screen on Startup

The 260 requires two 6-pin power connections. Have you plugged both of them in?
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 12:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4
Default Re: New Build, Black Screen on Startup

Yup, both are in. The only thing left that I can think of that might explain the problem would be the actual cable(s) that Im using to connect to the monitor, and that I will check tomorrow. Any other ideas?
my454whoha is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 01:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: New Build, Black Screen on Startup

have you checked the monitor on another computer?

monitors will have different input options. are you sure it is on dvi (the most likely for your your computer)

Tried different pci-e slots on your board?

Any post beeps from your board?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 06:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: New Build, Black Screen on Startup

Do you have the 8 pin power plugged in?
zedman3d is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 11:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4
Default Re: New Build, Black Screen on Startup

Ok, I double checked the 8pin, its firmly set in. I checked with a new monitor and a new cable, still nothing. I didnt try switching PCIe slots, but will in a few and will post afterwards. I havent heard any beeps from the board at all. Is that bad?
my454whoha is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 02:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: New Build, Black Screen on Startup

Your board doesn't have an onboard speaker that I can find (via images and manual). Try hooking up a speaker to the onboard header and see if it is trying to give a BIOS beep code.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 11:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4
Default Re: New Build, Black Screen on Startup

I called EVGA to discuss the problem and they think its a processor or motherboard problem, so I am RMAing both tomorrow and hopefully replacement parts will fix everything.
__________________

my454whoha is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't get past HP Blue Startup Screen pezdukie Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 12-20-2008 11:44 PM
Black Screen of Doom clark33 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-17-2008 02:05 PM
Black screen where XP login should be. Booting issue. TriEclipse Microsoft Windows and Software 14 05-11-2008 11:19 PM
Blue screen on new build HELP PLZ! AuThoRitY Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 07-16-2007 10:10 PM
Screen stays black.... Cajete Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-01-2007 08:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.