New build...any holes? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-18-2008, 04:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default New build...any holes?

So putting together a low-mid range comp together for someone who's looking for a system that will play all games today on standard settings, nothing too fancy....not a crysis gamer.

CM 690
Antec Truepower Trio 550W
e2180
Patriot Extreme 2GB
Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3L
EVGA 9800GT
LG GH22NP20
500GB Seagate

His $$$ was a little low for a 4850...which is what i wanted for him. The 9800gt should be ok I'm guessing. What about the GA-EP35-DS3L?
__________________

jfenwick is offline  
Old 09-18-2008, 04:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Digital_Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Amarillo, Texas
Posts: 141
Default Re: New build...any holes?

From what I know things look good to me but I have never used Gigabyte or the ram you have picked out.
__________________

Digital_Jedi is offline  
Old 09-18-2008, 05:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New build...any holes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfenwick View Post
So putting together a low-mid range comp together for someone who's looking for a system that will play all games today on standard settings, nothing too fancy....not a crysis gamer.

CM 690
Antec Truepower Trio 550W
e2180
Patriot Extreme 2GB
Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3L
EVGA 9800GT
LG GH22NP20
500GB Seagate

His $$$ was a little low for a 4850...which is what i wanted for him. The 9800gt should be ok I'm guessing. What about the GA-EP35-DS3L?
Looks good considering you can't afford an HD 4850... maybe check out the e5200?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-18-2008, 07:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: New build...any holes?

Yeah....was thinking that as well...especially as i don't think this guy is going to do much OCing.

You know much on the Ultra V-series PSUs? I have a guy here with a brand new 500 watt Utral V-Series he'll let go for $35.

From what I've read their not the greatest but not terrible and if you're not stressing them they will be ok for the build i mentioned.

That would free up another $30 - $40 bucks...maybe get that 4850.

[edit] Ultra Products - V-Series 500 Watt PSU - Black [/edit]
jfenwick is offline  
Old 09-18-2008, 07:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: New build...any holes?

I would stick with the PSU you mentioned or go a Corsair vx450 if you can afford it.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 09-18-2008, 07:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New build...any holes?

V-Series.. I wouldn't trust my rig with an Ultra PSU honestly... unless it was that one good one (I forget which)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-18-2008, 07:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: New build...any holes?

Yeah, I know the others are superior...just getting tempted by this offer, it's the Ultra Grid 500w psu+case. I think its too ugly to touch with a 10 foot pole but I can get the case+psu for $60 cash locally...that saves me about $100 on the build when you factor out the tax and extra S&H.

An additional $100 would bump that card up to the 4850 and the processor to the e5200.

Ultra Products - Grid ATX Mid-Tower Case w/ 500W V-Series PSU - Black

Essentially the build above or the one below, for the same price:

Ultra Grid ATX
Ultra V-Series 500W
e5200
Patriot Extreme 2GB
Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3L
Paliat 4850
LG GH22NP20
500GB Seagate

[edit]I heard the X3 from Ultra is good...but that was about it for high quality psus from ultra :P[/edit]
jfenwick is offline  
Old 09-18-2008, 09:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: New build...any holes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfenwick View Post
Yeah, I know the others are superior...just getting tempted by this offer, it's the Ultra Grid 500w psu+case. I think its too ugly to touch with a 10 foot pole but I can get the case+psu for $60 cash locally...that saves me about $100 on the build when you factor out the tax and extra S&H.

An additional $100 would bump that card up to the 4850 and the processor to the e5200.

Ultra Products - Grid ATX Mid-Tower Case w/ 500W V-Series PSU - Black

Essentially the build above or the one below, for the same price:

Ultra Grid ATX
Ultra V-Series 500W
e5200
Patriot Extreme 2GB
Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3L
Paliat 4850
LG GH22NP20
500GB Seagate

[edit]I heard the X3 from Ultra is good...but that was about it for high quality psus from ultra :P[/edit]

Only 28A on that PSU, ouch! You would be very lucky to run a 4850 on that.

Put it this way - my PSU creates 56A, exactly twice as much for only 50 more watts.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 09-18-2008, 09:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: New build...any holes?

Yeah, already placed the order...went with the corsair.

Thanks guys.
__________________

jfenwick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me build system on Q6600? yexusbeliever New Systems | Building and Buying 5 01-26-2008 12:34 AM
Budget build in a few months Drizzt System Upgrades 4 01-09-2008 12:56 PM
Super Budget Build - How does it sound to you? spikoman69 New Systems | Building and Buying 31 01-07-2008 10:43 PM
1st build, high end pc, non-gamer ksmart New Systems | Building and Buying 14 11-04-2007 05:51 PM
Computer Building Tutorials (videos)... first build OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 5 07-15-2007 12:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.