New budget gamer pc. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2006, 09:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to The Kid Send a message via Yahoo to The Kid
Question New budget gamer pc.

Hello all, I havn't been on these forums for some time. But anyhoo, im back.

My previous computer i bought cost me around $750 and it went to complete **** mainly because of the mobo. And possibly the cpu.

The mobo was a asus a7n8x-e Deluxe, and as some of you may know, all of the asus boards from that generation practicly went down the crapper due to them being made with bad capacitors. If you want the link, let me know, and ill get it for you. It shows hundreds of people with the same problem, yet asus won't admit it.

And i may have bought a used cpu that was claimed to be new off of newegg.

Over all, bad experince with building my first computer, and now that 750 is a useless hump o' junk. Took 3 years to save up and buy that. As i was 13 when i built it...

MOVING ON.

I just need to know if these parts are compatible with each other, and that it will all go together ok. If not, then please recomend a replacement for it. I don't want you to post links for some insably priced item, like a gefore 7800gt, as this is a budget pc for playing some MMO's and doing flash, dreamweaver, photoshop CS2 ect. Nothing crazy like running max specd. oblivion here. My dads pc does that just fine.


Thanks for putting up with my mini rant there. And for any help you provide.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811119068

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16826106346

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130528

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144122

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820220037

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817159023

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116224

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16836121119

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814145076


If you have any recomendations for where i can get these parts cheaper, or from a more trusted source would be great too. As ive been screwed over by newegg in the past.

Thanks,

-The Kid
__________________

__________________
Some say windows plays a demonic message when played backwards, but thats not the worst of it, play it forward, and it installs Windows.
The Kid is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 10:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

For the best prices, use pricegrabber.com

An ATA drive? Why??????

An older Intel mobo that can't run a Core 2 Duo?

And a Chaintech card?

Cheap is fine, but there are limits...
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 01:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to The Kid Send a message via Yahoo to The Kid
Default

Sorry, I was completly lost with the hardrive issue, it says that it was pata for up to 2 4x hookups, and sata 1.5gb/s so im completly lost on that.

And i don't know what you mean for the processor issue.

And the video card, well ill be running about 2-3 clients of a mmo, eve-online, and usually it wont matter for graphics, as the game is more of a processor/ram intensive game.

Links for more appropriate hardware? Or where i can learn about what to do with it?

And thanks for the reply!
__________________
Some say windows plays a demonic message when played backwards, but thats not the worst of it, play it forward, and it installs Windows.
The Kid is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 06:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

thats a really crappy build

you'll need to improve your build significantly...

something along the lines of this.. (if you dont like newegg, do as trotter said and use pricegrabber)


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148107
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130050
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130017
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104954
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820141185
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103633

there.. thats A LOT better..

case and other junk you can use the same stuff...

i reckon that'll cost you an extra $150 or so..? not sure.. but well worth it. there's a more expensive video card, but with mail-in rebate its cheaper.. so you can change to that one if you like..

gl
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 08:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter

Cheap is fine, but there are limits...
Ditto.

Quote:
Originally posted by aliasaid
thats a really crappy build

you'll need to improve your build significantly...

something along the lines of this.. (if you dont like newegg, do as trotter said and use pricegrabber)


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148107
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130050
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130017
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104954
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820141185
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103633

there.. thats A LOT better..

case and other junk you can use the same stuff...

i reckon that'll cost you an extra $150 or so..? not sure.. but well worth it. there's a more expensive video card, but with mail-in rebate its cheaper.. so you can change to that one if you like..

gl
His suggestion is far better than what you built Kid, but if you ask me, the cpu he suggested above is a big no no and the RAM Aswell.

You'd like 2GB Of ram since you play very intense MMO gamings and you said it yourself, just like me you run multiple clients on MMOs, so do I..

Anyway moving on from the ram issue that you'd like [trust me you would] 2x1gb sticks of CAS 3# Latencies if you can find or at most 4-4-4-8.

The cpu, for running heavy-data bandwith games like MMOs, you'd certainly without a single doubt want a dual core, I Assure you in that kind of things, the dual core truly shines!!


It all depends on how deep is you'r pocket in the end of the day, but these are my suggestions.

Also if right now a dual core seems REALLY pricey for you, in sometime around July 23'rd, the Atholn X2 prices will drop significantly and there will be a new Intel chip out called Intel Core 2 Dou, or codenamed "Conroe".... the E6600 Conroe will cost some where in the mid 300$'s [my guess is close to 350$] and suppose [following early benchmarks] to kick *** any athlon x2 chip you put against it.

Just my 2[or rather 20 lol] cent.

Edit: Here is the ram you would want for high data-flow games like MMO's [especially while you are running multiple accounts simultaniously]
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227047

This is what every MMO hardcore gamer should have as one I know it is lol .

-Jo
Yoad is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 01:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Why don't you tell us your budget then we can pick the best parts for you while still being in your price range.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 03:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to The Kid Send a message via Yahoo to The Kid
Default

$750?

I just don't want to build a crazy gaming rig, and then have it go to waste when vista comes out and i need a completly new build for it.

I have a job, so I guess i could go higher. But most computers degrade in value quickly do to the rapid updates of technology.

Thanks for all your help so far guys!
__________________
Some say windows plays a demonic message when played backwards, but thats not the worst of it, play it forward, and it installs Windows.
The Kid is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 03:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

well any 64bit cpu [especialy the conroes and the newest am2's] will be good enough for vista.

and the ram i suggested will live far longer than windows vista does (I Don't believe it'll be that great for a long long while anyway, by the time it is you'll have money for 3 more pcs, but thats my opinion).

You don't want to skimp on either the ram or the dual cpu if you're a hardcore MMO gamer that runs multiple clients.. trust me.

-Jo.
Yoad is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 05:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

obviously dual core and 2gb's of ram is best. but considering the parts he was choosing, i didn't wnt to stray too far from his budget.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 06:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 102
Send a message via AIM to The Kid Send a message via Yahoo to The Kid
Default

ok, are dual cores afforadable? Or is it one of those elite processors that just hit the market and are rediculously exspensive.

I want to get vista latter on as id like to get dx10 graphics going. And so far i don't know if current hardware on the market will run dx10, or if there will be a whole new line of mobos, ram, cpu's, ect. Since there will be dx10 cards. As last time i heard, xp won't be able to suport dx10.
__________________

__________________
Some say windows plays a demonic message when played backwards, but thats not the worst of it, play it forward, and it installs Windows.
The Kid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.