New $640 Budget Gaming Build - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2008, 09:37 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New $640 Budget Gaming Build

and get a smexy AF64 to go with it
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-08-2008, 09:38 PM   #12 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New $640 Budget Gaming Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
and get a smexy AF64 to go with it
I think you meant AF7.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-08-2008, 09:55 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New $640 Budget Gaming Build

yes I meant Arctic Freezer Pro 7, gosh darn, so used to recommending AMD for budget builds, old habits die hard eh?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 02:31 PM   #14 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: New $640 Budget Gaming Build

So I decided to spring for the Arctic Freezer Pro 7 out of my own pocket for my old man. Looking at the pictures it seems like it has thermal pad/paste already on the bottom.

Should I go with what is included or use my tube of Arctic Silver 5 that I already have?

I also changed the RAM to Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) since it was on the compatible RAM list at Gigabyte's page.

I'll likely be ordering Wednesday or Thursday, so I'm still open to suggestions!

Also, I have one final question about that Abit IP35-E. It uses a 8-pin power connector by the CPU, where the DS3L only has a 4-pin one. The majority of Power Supplies in the Recommended PC Components thread only have a 4-pin connector for them. Would that cause a problem had I gone with the Abit IP35-E?
__________________
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 03-11-2008, 03:18 PM   #15 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New $640 Budget Gaming Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by aetherh4cker View Post
So I decided to spring for the Arctic Freezer Pro 7 out of my own pocket for my old man. Looking at the pictures it seems like it has thermal pad/paste already on the bottom.

Should I go with what is included or use my tube of Arctic Silver 5 that I already have?
No. The thermal pad that is pre-applied to the ACF7Pro, is MX-1 or 2, which is better than AS5.

Quote:
I also changed the RAM to Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) since it was on the compatible RAM list at Gigabyte's page.
Good choice.

Quote:
Also, I have one final question about that Abit IP35-E. It uses a 8-pin power connector by the CPU, where the DS3L only has a 4-pin one. The majority of Power Supplies in the Recommended PC Components thread only have a 4-pin connector for them. Would that cause a problem had I gone with the Abit IP35-E?
The 8-pin CPU power connection is usually meant to provide more stable power to the CPU, when overclocking. Specifically a quad core, since they would need more stable power than a dual core. I've read that it's ok to just use a 4-pin in that 8-pin slot. But I guess it's better to be safe, right? So you can get an 4-pin to 8-pin adapter such as:
Newegg.com - APEVIA 9.5" 4 Pin P4 /12V to 8 Pin P8 /12V Power Supply Converter Cable Model CVT48 - Retail

And you've raised a good point. I should look around for more PSUs, that already come with an 8-pin CPU power connector cable.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help Deciding On Last Mintue Gaming Build Battlefront115 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 02-04-2008 07:37 PM
Help with a low budget build Flame Hawk New Systems | Building and Buying 34 08-22-2007 07:18 AM
Strict budget... Gaming... c0rr0sive New Systems | Building and Buying 15 08-21-2007 01:24 AM
Intel or Amd for new gaming build? Mandingo New Systems | Building and Buying 10 05-26-2007 09:42 AM
Awesome X2 Overclockers Budget Gaming Build Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-07-2007 01:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.