Network Cards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2014, 09:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
fallenapples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 376
Default Network Cards

I want to know if I purchase a network card will it increase the speed of my downloads? Does it have to do with my ISP or mobo?
__________________

__________________
|ASUS M5A97 R2.0| AMD FX 6300 3.5 GHZ|16GB (4x4) 1600MHZ DDR3 RAM|ASUS Radeon HD 7770 1GB| Kingston HyperX RAM|Kingston Hyper X 120 GB SSD|WD Green 1TB HDD|


|ASRock N68C-GS FX|AMD Athlon II X3 450 3.2 GHZ|G.Skill 8GB (2x4) 1600MHZ DRR3 RAM |Geforce 9800 GT 1GB DDR5|Seagate 500 GB HDD|



|Macbook Pro- Intel Core i5 2.4 GHZ|8GB DDR3 RAM|Samsung Evo 840 240GB SSD|


fallenapples is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 10:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: Network Cards

Unless you're on a very old ethernet card (one that would support 10mbit and not 10/100 or 10/100/1000), then upgrading the NIC won't do any good. To get faster download if you're already hitting your network cap, you need to increase your service limit with your ISP.

However, if you're not hitting your current cap, then it would either be an issue with your network card, or an issue with your router. I know that after I replaced my old router, I was able to hit my download speed cap.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 07:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Network Cards

Yoy cable lines to your home will also affect your speed. Where I lived, every time it rained my speed would drop noticeably slow, Finally my ISP came out and found the connections outside the house lost their seal, water was getting in and they were corroded
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 10:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
fallenapples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 376
Default Re: Network Cards

Is there benchmarking software that can test my speeds? I want full performance. I think my mobo supports up to 1000mb, How can I find out if I'm hitting my cap or not?
__________________
|ASUS M5A97 R2.0| AMD FX 6300 3.5 GHZ|16GB (4x4) 1600MHZ DDR3 RAM|ASUS Radeon HD 7770 1GB| Kingston HyperX RAM|Kingston Hyper X 120 GB SSD|WD Green 1TB HDD|


|ASRock N68C-GS FX|AMD Athlon II X3 450 3.2 GHZ|G.Skill 8GB (2x4) 1600MHZ DRR3 RAM |Geforce 9800 GT 1GB DDR5|Seagate 500 GB HDD|



|Macbook Pro- Intel Core i5 2.4 GHZ|8GB DDR3 RAM|Samsung Evo 840 240GB SSD|


fallenapples is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 12:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: Network Cards

Windows task manager. With a 191Mb connection (if that's current) you should be doing about 14% or so in the network tab during a speedtest (from speedtest.net).
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 07:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
fallenapples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 376
Default Re: Network Cards

My ISP says I have 250mbps, but I top out at 200 mbps on speed test. If I got a new router would that help? Because I know the router is included in my internet package and I pay a small rental fee for it.
__________________
|ASUS M5A97 R2.0| AMD FX 6300 3.5 GHZ|16GB (4x4) 1600MHZ DDR3 RAM|ASUS Radeon HD 7770 1GB| Kingston HyperX RAM|Kingston Hyper X 120 GB SSD|WD Green 1TB HDD|


|ASRock N68C-GS FX|AMD Athlon II X3 450 3.2 GHZ|G.Skill 8GB (2x4) 1600MHZ DRR3 RAM |Geforce 9800 GT 1GB DDR5|Seagate 500 GB HDD|



|Macbook Pro- Intel Core i5 2.4 GHZ|8GB DDR3 RAM|Samsung Evo 840 240GB SSD|


fallenapples is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 07:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: Network Cards

Depends on the modem they are renting to you. Also when you get so high it depends on if the server in question can actually utilize the bandwidth and provide an accurate result.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Workstation cards vrs Video cards. KJamesJR System Upgrades 8 01-04-2011 09:10 AM
types of graphics cards and sound cards mlr Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 03-08-2005 03:27 PM
Gigabyte graphics cards and Ati graphics cards Venom Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 11-15-2004 02:50 PM
more network cards = faster? ekÆsine Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 5 01-22-2004 09:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.