Need Upgrading Suggestions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2006, 12:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default Need Upgrading Suggestions

Ok, I just opened up my system, and now I know what I've got.

Intel Celeron 2.4GHz
128mb PC2100 RAM x2, 256mb PC2100 RAM (512mb total)
Gecube Radeon 9600 Pro 256mb
ASUS DRW-1608P DVD/RW
WD 40gb + 80gb hard drives
Compaq 240w PSU

Everything else is some kinda stock HP crap, I'm pretty sure the mobo is and the case is too. I'm really looking to up my FPS in CS:S mainly, I get about 20-40fps in it, but sometimes I go as low as 5-10fps. Anyone got any suggestions on what to change, or if I shold just get a whole new rig?
__________________

cyrax is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 01:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

whole new rig plus that PSU is a bit small, PM me for help with that rig if you want it
__________________

__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 01:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=91733

why double post ?
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 01:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Accident, I thought my other thread was dead.

Tell me what you think of this ram, http://supercheappc.biz/site/product...8eab3ce363d0b0

And this video card,
http://supercheappc.biz/site/product...oducts_id=1309

Also, does it matter what brand you get when you get components?
cyrax is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 01:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

yes it does matter & that video card wont fit, answer my PM & ill help you
__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 02:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

What about this setup:

CPU,
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ CPU, 2.2GHz, Socket 939, 32/64-Bit, San Diego Core, ATX, Retail pack with fan
RAM, OCZ Dual Channel Performance Memory Kit, 2x1GB, DDR-SDRAM, DIMM, DDR400
MOBO, DFI LANPARTY UTNF4 SLI-D Motherboard, Socket 939, 4xDIMM, DDR, 2xPCIe-16, 2xPCI, 1xPCIe-1, 10xUSB2, Firewire, Audio, ATA, SATA, RAID, ATX
CASE, Raidmax Ninja ATX Mid Tower Case, 520W ATX PSU, Side Window, Front USB, Silver
PSU,
Enermax ELT500AWT, 500W Liberty ATX PSU, Modular Design, SLI & Crossfire Ready
GRAPHICS, XFX PV-T70G-UDE7 Video Card, GeForce 7800 GT, 256MB, DDR3, PCIe-16, TV out, DVI, HDTV, SLI ready
HARD DRIVE, Western Digital Caviar WD2500JS-SE Hard Disk Drive, 250GB, 7200rpm, 8192KB Cache, SATA-2/300
cyrax is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 02:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

he has optical drives & that already. Look, dont rip XFX unless you have personally RMA'ed one, they are high end cards in the southern hemishere & evga is not available.

Other than that & the WD hard drive you cynical fanboys should be happy, dual core is just too expensive
__________________

__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.