Need to upgrade storage... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-29-2015, 12:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Need to upgrade storage...

Kind of ended up in a pickle here... Need help and guidance from a few people, sadly, this topic falls into many categories here on the website...

I need a SAS controller, that is compatible with ESXi 5.5/5.1 and doesn't use a slot larger than PCIe x8. It must support a minimum of 8 HDD's, as well as have options for a BBU, as well as Raid6.
The last little problem, needs to be plentiful on Ebay, and somewhat cheap used.

Anyone have any ideas?
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 07:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Need to upgrade storage...

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
Kind of ended up in a pickle here... Need help and guidance from a few people, sadly, this topic falls into many categories here on the website...

I need a SAS controller, that is compatible with ESXi 5.5/5.1 and doesn't use a slot larger than PCIe x8. It must support a minimum of 8 HDD's, as well as have options for a BBU, as well as Raid6.
The last little problem, needs to be plentiful on Ebay, and somewhat cheap used.

Anyone have any ideas?
Hmm this is far as I can drive you, it'll support 8 drives.
http://www.amazon.com/Mini-sas-SFF-8.../dp/B000GU04VY

Read this users comment first then read what the other guy said.
Do SAS expanders work transparently with SAS controllers? - Server Fault

I suggest you contact lex luthor he's very good with stuff like this.

Why do you need 8 drives to begin with ? if its for those videos your still archiving...
No disrespect but why not take 2 terabytes of video and data and store it away on mediafire.com ?
If its not being used daily I see no need to keep it, especially at the risk of wearing out the drive during a period of time.
__________________

-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 09:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Need to upgrade storage...

Because I plan on a RAID array?

I do more than collect Anime/Movies, I have a rather extensive network that has daily backups, some computers in this house will fill a 4TB drive in just one backup.

Limited internet bandwidth?

Link provided is dealing mostly with port multipliers, (expanders) which is really IMO, a useless technology in the end.
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 10:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: Need to upgrade storage...

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
Limited internet bandwidth?
that sux
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 10:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Need to upgrade storage...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe C View Post
that sux
That it does, while I am technically "unlimited" it isn't wise to go over my quota... Gotta love being a test client.

So, anyone have any good ideas? Or am I really going to end up with a SAS expander...?
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 01:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Need to upgrade storage...

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
Or am I really going to end up with a SAS expander...?
The way you keep pushing things with those drives as you stated, you don't have any other option but to go with that.
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2015, 11:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Need to upgrade storage...

Ended up going with an Adaptec 9650SE-12 for the controller... Plan on ordering a BBU for it very soon so I can turn write-caching on...


All I know is, the cables that came with the card, didn't work, apparently there is a difference... Pinout 1 and a Pinout 2, and designated by only a single number on the cables... Just happens the only known 100% working cable model is a full meter in length...



Rest of my drives will be in by the end of the week... I hope... If FedEx doesn't screw up anymore... For those asking why don't I use the mobo for those disks... Because I get like 10MB/s throughput on those disks tops because of ESX...

At this point, I guess the thread can be closed.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Storage Density vs Storage Capacity? Cheecho Technology Careers and Education 2 01-28-2015 08:38 PM
When you need portable data storage jbcohen Microsoft Windows and Software 32 10-30-2007 10:02 AM
Need more storage for my PC - Drive Array? CitizenCain New Systems | Building and Buying 2 08-12-2007 09:53 AM
need help with data storage loadobject New Systems | Building and Buying 4 11-10-2006 07:16 PM
Box.net (best Storage And Backup Solution), 1 GB free online storage diabloII Off Topic Discussion 2 03-12-2006 09:20 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.