Need to upgrade (Keep it Cheap) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2008, 05:31 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Need to upgrade (Keep it Cheap)

what's wrong with the corsair i recomended? it's only 30 more bucks and it is alot more juice.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 05:42 PM   #12 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Need to upgrade (Keep it Cheap)

Why a 8800 when a 4850 is faster AND cheaper?

NCIX.com - Buy Palit Radeon HD 4850 512MB GDDR3 PCI-E Video Card - XAE/48500+T352 In Canada..
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 05:44 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 80
Default Re: Need to upgrade (Keep it Cheap)

Alright I have decided to get the 8800Gt as my video card

I can't choose between the Antec Earthwatts 380W and the Corsair TX650W, Which one would be a better choice in the long run?

also, what should I do with my processor? Is it fine as it is, even without overclocking? or should I replace it?

To trotter: I have been using Nvidia video cards all my life, so I don't really know anything about Radeon's
VistaGamer is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 06:21 PM   #14 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Need to upgrade (Keep it Cheap)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
I thought they would be more expensive than that. I would get the 4850 Trotter posted and the Corsair 650tx.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 07:04 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Need to upgrade (Keep it Cheap)

the corsair is better. and since when have the 4850's been in the 130 range?
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 10:16 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 80
Default Re: Need to upgrade (Keep it Cheap)

alright well now that I have most of that stuff out of the way:

Does anyone know what I should do about my processor? Should I replace it or leave it as it is?
VistaGamer is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 10:23 PM   #17 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Need to upgrade (Keep it Cheap)

Nvidia and Radeon work the same... you just have to make sure you have completely uninstalled the Nvidia drivers before you install the ATI drivers.

The 4200 X2 is a good chip. I am running the s939 version. That said, there are faster chips out there. A 4400 runs $50 on Newegg, and a 6400 is $93 right now. Since your rig is a pre-built, it won't overclock, so the stock speed is all you can get.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-11-2008, 08:10 AM   #18 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Need to upgrade (Keep it Cheap)

Yeh as mentioned go for the 4850 and the Corsair 650 TX.

A 6400 would be alright since your not overclocking. With the parts you would have before getting a new processor you would easily be able to bioshock and the other games you listed, the only real problem with your computer before was that the RAM was very low and the graphics card weak. A 4850+2gig of ram, and even a nice new cpu like the 6400 will have you set for any game.
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 09-11-2008, 04:52 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 80
Default Re: Need to upgrade (Keep it Cheap)

How Long would a rig like this stand against the new types of games? I'm looking for a rig that could handle games like Bioshock for about a year or so, so that I don't have to go out and buy parts again for a while.

Also, are you guys sure 2 gig is okay even though I have a Vista?Also, if you guys look on page 2 of the Windows Operating Systems and Software forums, I have this problem where my games are going slower by 50% ( if anyone has any idea, let me know please. Info is on the thread titled "Games go slower by a full 50%). So, If I can't get this problem fixed, should I get some stronger parts?

Sorry if that's worded Incorrectly. I am pretty good at English, just not perfect, or anywhere close to it
VistaGamer is offline  
Old 09-11-2008, 07:32 PM   #20 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Need to upgrade (Keep it Cheap)

Have you bought the new parts?

Games should be fine for a year with the rig suggested, the gpu would last a couple of years and really the only thing you might have to upgrade would be the RAM since games are starting to use more and more. Maybe a year down the line get 4gig of ram, though you will need a 64 bit Operating System to register all 4 gigs, since 32 bit only picks up 4gig - your video cards ram.
__________________

__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.