Need to upgrade graphics card and powersupply - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2012, 04:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Default Need to upgrade graphics card and powersupply

Hey everyone,

I've been wanting to upgrade my computer for sometime now and the only things I'd think it needs are a better graphics card and power supply. I would mostly use this for playing mostly Diablo 3 and StarCraft 2 games and possibly eventually hooking it up to my home theater receiver to watch movies off my PC.

My questions are: can I even fit a graphics card of these sizes in my computer and what size power supply do I need both wattage and actual physical size since my computer is I guess considered a minitower? I'd also prefer the whole ordeal to be as plug and playish as possible. Also obviously what graphics cards and power supplies are compatible with my computer (motherboard)? Sorry for all the questions but I can't find much info on my computer specifically.

My PC is here: Gateway DX4300-22 Refurbished Desktop PC - AMD Phenom II X4 810 2.6GHz, 6GB DDR2, 1TB HDD, DVDRW, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit at TigerDirect.com

Some cards I've been looking at are:



SAPPHIRE RADEON HD 6870 1 GB XFX HD-687A-ZNFC 256BIT DDR5




POWERCOLOR ATI RADEON HD6870 1 GB DDR5 VIDEO CARD AX6870 ...




XFX ATI Radeon HD 6770 1GB GDDR5 PCI-E Graphics Card - HD...

XFX CORE Edition FX-777A-ZNF4 Radeon HD 7770 GHz Edition 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16


SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6870 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1...




Gigabyte ATI Radeon HD 6850 GV-R685OC-1GD - Slightly Used...
__________________

MTyson3284 is offline  
Old 05-19-2012, 10:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: Need to upgrade graphics card and powersupply

You're actually going to have to do most of the leg work to figure this out, unless there is a member here with the same computer.
Not all that difficult, just open the side panel and start measuring.
You already have a discrete graphics card, so you can measure how much more room you have from the end of it until you hit an obstruction.

The HD 6870 needs a 500W+ power supply, again just measure your current power supply and find one that will fit in the current mounting bracket.
If there aren't any obstructions around it than you can find one that is a little bigger if need be.
__________________

__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 05-19-2012, 10:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: Need to upgrade graphics card and powersupply

PSu that is in it currently is a 300. You will need I'd say a 550w PSU to power the whole thing. A regular sized PSU will fit in the case.

A 6870 will fit in there as well.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 05-20-2012, 02:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Default Re: Need to upgrade graphics card and powersupply

Thanks for the help.
MTyson3284 is offline  
Old 05-21-2012, 03:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 79
Send a message via Skype™ to ImTorey
Default Re: Need to upgrade graphics card and powersupply

Is it still the same with ATI vs NVIDIA in the 6,000 series as where the nvidia performs better in game but ati is better on chart programs? If so I'd go nvidia. 560 ti or something.
ImTorey is offline  
Old 05-21-2012, 08:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: Need to upgrade graphics card and powersupply

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImTorey View Post
Is it still the same with ATI vs NVIDIA in the 6,000 series as where the nvidia performs better in game but ati is better on chart programs? If so I'd go nvidia. 560 ti or something.
No. Now it is AMD will release a new card 6 months before Nvidia and then Nvidia will release something new that performs better till the holidays. Rinse, repeat.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 05-22-2012, 04:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 79
Send a message via Skype™ to ImTorey
Default Re: Need to upgrade graphics card and powersupply

Ah yea i knew it was something, basically from all the video reviews ive seen nvidia performs better in game but lower chart marks and amd is opposite. from tech of tommrrow motherboards.org w.e those sites.
ImTorey is offline  
Old 05-22-2012, 05:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: Need to upgrade graphics card and powersupply

Hasen't been that way for some time. Nvidia has had the upper hand in everything until AMD releases their stuff during the holidays. The only thing I can really see AMD doing better is double precision GPGPU.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 05-22-2012, 06:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 79
Send a message via Skype™ to ImTorey
Default Re: Need to upgrade graphics card and powersupply

You watch any of the comparisons with bench systems, new nv cards always out perform in game.
ImTorey is offline  
Old 05-22-2012, 07:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,280
Default Re: Need to upgrade graphics card and powersupply

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImTorey View Post
You watch any of the comparisons with bench systems, new nv cards always out perform in game.
I just said that. They outperform in everything until AMD release something new. Been this way since the 400 series.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
powersupply and graphics card ? chublake System Upgrades 11 12-19-2011 03:45 PM
Need help want to upgrade my graphics card counterfox System Upgrades 12 03-22-2010 10:48 AM
Should I upgrade my powersupply? andrewsvalesen Overclocking and Modding 3 08-24-2008 09:39 PM
fed up of loud Graphics Card! :@ upgrade pci-e with silent card pintobeef System Upgrades 5 07-27-2007 02:02 PM
Graphics Card Upgrade mcslave Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 11-11-2004 09:27 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.