Need Suggestions for a Solid, Stable AM2 Board - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2007, 06:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Lightbulb Need Suggestions for a Solid, Stable AM2 Board

This system I will be building is a non-gaming, non-overclocking rig for the purposes of Window Office work, Windows Publishing, video and picture editing, online banking, DVD burning, internet surfing, downloading music and other things, and other applications such as Quick Books.

I have done a lot of research into AM2 boards but there is so much out there it makes my head spin. Plus a number of them seem to be picky about RAM while some others have issues with certain X2 cores.

Why AM2? To take advantage of AMD's huge price drop in their X2 chips. I figure with what it will be used for it should last me for some time, thus my desire for a solid, steady and reliable motherboard.

I did look seriously into the Asus M2N-E nForce 570 Ultra MCP but I have read online of MANY people having issues with this board even at stock settings.

Desired Parameters:

1. Buget: $75 - $125

2. No onboard video.

3. Can do at least 8 Gigs of RAM (for the future); but 4 Gigs is definitely doable.

Thanks.
__________________

GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 07:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Need Suggestions for a Solid, Stable AM2 Board

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-M61P-S3 Socket AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 6100 ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

Has onboard video, but you can disable it, when you put your graphic card in.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 07:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Default Re: Need Suggestions for a Solid, Stable AM2 Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-M61P-S3 Socket AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 6100 ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

Has onboard video, but you can disable it, when you put your graphic card in.
I meant to add that if the video can be disabled in the BIOS and a video card can be added then that would be okay. Thanks for mentioning it. By the way, seems like a good board. I know very little about Gigabyte but many people seem to run them.
GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 09:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Need Suggestions for a Solid, Stable AM2 Board

The onboard video is always able to be disabled pretty much. They wouldn't add a PCI-E slot if it couldn't. Gigabyte make very good boards the price and that is a one he linked, I would go with it.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 09:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Need Suggestions for a Solid, Stable AM2 Board

i would suggest something like this :
Newegg.com - ECS KA3 MVP (V1.0A) Socket AM2 AMD 580X CrossFire ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
but its ecs, even the they pulled their ground like foxxcon and improved over the years 25% of the reviews are bad and 75% is good. but hey its ur choice
darksideleader is offline  
Old 04-14-2007, 09:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Red face Re: Need Suggestions for a Solid, Stable AM2 Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
The onboard video is always able to be disabled pretty much. They wouldn't add a PCI-E slot if it couldn't.
DUH! - me. How in the world didn't I catch that???
GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 04-14-2007, 06:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Need Suggestions for a Solid, Stable AM2 Board

my board:
Newegg.com - ABIT KN9 Socket AM2 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
ABIT kn9 ultra with nf4 chipset.
doesnt have onboard.
can do 8gb
under 75 bucks.
for the money, you cannot beat this mobo.
it is not the best overclocker (but its pretty awesome for a 75 dollar mobo). that doesnt matter to you.
it is rock solid at all stock, ie i have NEVER had a single problem with it running stock everything.
i think it will work well for you.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-14-2007, 08:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 331
Default Re: Need Suggestions for a Solid, Stable AM2 Board

nagasama, what RAM are you using? I've read the reviews at NewEgg and it seems that this board is picky with the RAM selection.

Also, the nVidia firewall also seems to cause much BSOD's, but when hasn't it?
GoodNews101 is offline  
Old 04-15-2007, 12:00 AM   #9 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Need Suggestions for a Solid, Stable AM2 Board

i use corsair xms2 ddr2-800 C4 version.
it boots fine with the 1.85 volts supplied by the mobo stock, although you should raise it to 1.9 if using 5-5-5-18 timings or to 2.1+ if using 4-4-4-12.
it may be picky with RAM that doesnt post at less than 2.1v. as a rule of thimb, most people who post reviews at newegg dont know sh*t. they're Ram doesnt post at 4-4-4-12 because they havent upped the voltage, which is clearly stated on the corsair website. mostly dumbness.
you dont have to install the nvidia firewall, in fact...i suggest that you do not.
i read that there were problems with it, too...i didnt install it, no problems.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rumor: PlayStation Loses Metal Gear Solid Exclusivity TheEnd187 Sony Playstation 64 10-06-2007 12:38 AM
What makes an OS more stable? Tcm9669 Off Topic Discussion 13 03-26-2007 01:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.