need some help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2012, 05:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Armstrong, BC
Posts: 6
Default need some help

am new to the forums and am a gray headed elder with very limited computer knowledge and on a limited income. Have an Aspire M5620 with 300 w power, Nividia 8600 ct card and intel Core2Quad. Need some adive as to possible upgrades on power supply, graphics card and cpu. Any help would be graetly appreciated
__________________

grservices is offline  
Old 01-30-2012, 05:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: need some help

Welcome to Tech-Forums, grservices!!!

What is the purpose of the computer if I may ask? This will help determine what possible upgrades you may need.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-30-2012, 05:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Armstrong, BC
Posts: 6
Default Re: need some help

playing Civ V
grservices is offline  
Old 01-30-2012, 05:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: need some help

Do you know how much RAM you have? And what is your budget? You may just need a better graphics card.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-30-2012, 06:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Armstrong, BC
Posts: 6
Default Re: need some help

3 g ddd2 and have researched other cards but it seems like i need to up the cps to at least 400w to handle an up-graded card. have limited founds but what i can spend will depend on what i can get
grservices is offline  
Old 01-30-2012, 06:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: need some help

Upgrading the graphics usually leads to upgrading the power supply. I would recommend something along the lines of:

Newegg.ca - CORSAIR Builder Series CX430 V2 (CMPSU-430CXV2) 430W ATX12V v2.3 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply
&
Newegg.ca - SAPPHIRE 100326DDR3L Radeon HD 6670 1GB 128-bit DDR3 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card

That would be around $120 not including tax or shipping, but those should upgrade your computer to a decent gaming system on a budget.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-30-2012, 06:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Armstrong, BC
Posts: 6
Default Re: need some help

thanks for the advice. Will check them out. The specs say 1 PCI Expressx16 slot and 1 PCI Expressx1 slot. Would this make any difference?
grservices is offline  
Old 01-30-2012, 11:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: need some help

As for RAM, this is what your board can handle:

Quote:
Up to 4 GB of DDR2 667/800 MHz SDRAM
(dual-channel support on four DIMMs)
So you could go for up to 4 x 1GB. What are your current DIMMs? If you have 3GB in four DIMMs I am guess 2 x 1GB and 2 x 512MB. Check the speeds of your sticks... if you can go with all four as DDR2 800 you will be as good as you can get with RAM.

A C2Q should be plenty for Civ V, BTW.

A better GFX card will entail a better PSU, as b1gapl already pointed out.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-31-2012, 04:51 AM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: need some help

Quote:
Originally Posted by grservices
The specs say 1 PCI Expressx16 slot and 1 PCI Expressx1 slot. Would this make any difference?
The graphic card I suggested is an x16 card. An x1 card would be more of an expansion card, such as a sound card or usb/sata controller. You can actually run an x1 card in an x16 slot, but you want an x16 card and that's what HD 6670 is.

Ditto on what Trotter said about RAM.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-31-2012, 11:14 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Armstrong, BC
Posts: 6
Default

appreciate all the info. will have to save up but will probably do the upgrade on power and card

there are 4 slot, 2 paired with 3 Samsung 1GB 2Rx8 PC2-5300U-55-12-E3 and operating 32bit Vista. will adding 1 addition stick be of much good by itself. thanks in advance for your help.
__________________

grservices is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.