Need some good Ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2011, 05:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 181
Default Need some good Ram

Hey I'm going to migrate to a 64 bit Windows 7 Professional OS from my 32 bit so I can access more ram primarily for gaming.

Anyone know some really good ram that's affordable?
1066 DDR3 240 pin. It's for a Rampage Formula 3 motherboard.
Preferrably 8 GB

Any help is appreciated!
__________________

Curbkiddytech is offline  
Old 11-08-2011, 06:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Need some good Ram

Is this your motherboard?

Newegg.com - ASUS Rampage III Formula LGA 1366 Intel X58 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

If it is your mobo then what memory are you currently using? That mobo is a triple channel mobo so you want to use sets of 3, as in, 3GB (3x1GB), 6GB (6x1GB) or (3x2GB), 12GB (6x2GB) or (3x4GB), 24GB (6x4GB).

If you already have 3GB then you can add 3GB (3x1GB) more for a total of 6GB, or you can add 6GB (2x2GB) for a total of 9GB, etc...

Your requesting 1066 DDR3, that's really slow memory, I mean really slow. Most pre-built system come with 1333 DDR3 while most Custom systems come with 1600 DDR3. You should post some screenshots of the CPU tab, Mainboard tab, Memory tab, SPD tab of CPU-Z v.1.58. On the SPD tab make sure you've selected a slot that has a stick of memory in it.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 11-08-2011, 06:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 181
Default Re: Need some good Ram

That is the correct motherboard and I am currently using is Newegg.com - G.SKILL 3GB (3 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Triple Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9T-3GBNQ
and I'd like to go with the total of 9GB using (2x2GB) so if you could send me a link to that I would really appreciate it!
Curbkiddytech is offline  
Old 11-08-2011, 07:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Need some good Ram

You can't get a total of 9GB using (2x2GB) with your (3x1GB). You have to buy a (3x2GB) kit.

This kit looks like a match to the set you already have and it will bring you up to 9GB.

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Triple Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9T-6GBNQ
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 11-08-2011, 10:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 181
Default Re: Need some good Ram

Thanks for all the help! I appreciate it!
Curbkiddytech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a High-res LCD Gaming Monitor - Good value, good price! blayez New Systems | Building and Buying 15 05-31-2008 07:10 PM
Good, somewhat inexpensive laptop with good Linux support C_olin Laptops and Notebooks 1 09-10-2007 02:45 PM
If it's good for gaming, is it good for graphic designers? NathanLedet New Systems | Building and Buying 15 03-09-2007 02:30 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.