Need some clarification here (dual processors) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2006, 01:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 35
Default Need some clarification here (dual processors)

I'm curious about dual core systems and have a question regarding their speed listings, take the following example.

AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ 2.0GHz (2 x 512KB) L2 Cache Dual Core

Now would the 2.0 GHz mean that there are two 1 GHZ processors in it running at a total of 2.0 GHZ? Or are there two 2.0 GHZ processors? I'm a bit confused here on that. Or is it something totally different and I'm completely off here?

Thanks for the help
__________________

Dakhathsk is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 01:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Chazzer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3
Default

I'm pretty sure that there are two 2.0gHz cores on one chip, giving an effect of 2 2.0gHz processors, I think.
__________________

Chazzer3 is offline  
Old 04-19-2006, 03:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Yep, there are two cores on a single die each consisting of a 2ghz core with their own dedicated cache, being 512kb L2 cache in this example...
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.