Need reccomondations for a good Via Socket 754!! board - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-07-2005, 09:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default Need reccomondations for a good Via Socket 754!! board

made a new post as original post kind of went downhill..

I allready have an AMD newcastle 3200+ and 6800GT AGP GDDR3 but the 6800 is incompatible with Nforce3 mobos and there is no fix, and probably never will be a full fix, disabling fast writes helps and underclocking the card helps but not 100%

So i just want to get a good via mobo for gaming and that has rather decent overclock ability not looking to spend more than about $100 on comp parts until after xmas so just doing this minor thing now.
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
kiyotaka is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 09:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default

hmm.. allthough i may try the card on my vf3n motherboard.. Doubt there will be a differance :/
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
kiyotaka is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 09:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

It ain't VIA (which I happen to not have ANY problems with, thank you very much!), but it is somthing you might be interested in.

I posted about a socket 754 SLI mobo a while back: http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=69961

Check out the post, as well as its links.

The mobo is on the market now. NewEgg has it for $102 + $3.99 shipping:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813123257

Couple that with nVidia's new Forceware drivers (http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=72972), and you're in business!
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 09:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter
It ain't VIA (which I happen to not have ANY problems with, thank you very much!), but it is somthing you might be interested in.

I posted about a socket 754 SLI mobo a while back: http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=69961

Check out the post, as well as its links.

The mobo is on the market now. NewEgg has it for $102 + $3.99 shipping:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813123257

Couple that with nVidia's new Forceware drivers (http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=72972), and you're in business!

good board, but i need something with agp
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
kiyotaka is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 10:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

Oh... sorry.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 10:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default

DFI K8T800 PRO-ALF Via K8T800 Pro

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=246492
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-07-2005, 10:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter
DFI K8T800 PRO-ALF Via K8T800 Pro

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=246492
nice. would be a pretty good board, Just would have to buy a few self adhesive heatsinks for that north and south bridge but good nonetheless

gotta look at that but need to make another post before I figur eout if i do it or not.
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
kiyotaka is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 03:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

your only real issue is only two ram slots
__________________

__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.