Need RAM help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2006, 09:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1
Question Need RAM help


I have a P4 3Ghz PC with 512Mb Ram. I mainly use my machine for web, but also some photoshop and dreamweaver and similar programs. I do absolutely no gaming. Will another 512Mb ram give me a significant, or at least a noticeable improvement?

Also, my current ram says:

"512MB UNB PC3200 CL3"

What type of ram can I add to this? What type of ram SHOULD I add to this? I really know very little about ram. Can I use DDR, what do the UNB, PC3200 and CL3 mean? What should I be looking for when shopping for ram?

Thanks in advance.

nikanj is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 09:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
b1gapl's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044

Yes definitely get more RAM....more RAM is a must especially if you're doing photoshop and editing programs. Your's says PC3200, thats probably DDR. PC3200 is the speed of the RAM and CL3 is the latency of the RAM. I don't know what UNB means.....possibly brand? I would sell that stick and get 2x512mb or even better 2x1gb.



b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 09:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
aliasaid's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400

yes, another 512 will help.

yes you will have to use DDR ram.

UNB = donno
PC3200 = speed of ram, which is DDR400
CL3 = cas latency, your new ram doesn't have to have the same latency, but it is better to get ram that is the same.

edit: bigpal beat me to it!
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 10:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 309

Ditto to aliasaid,

In addition another 512MB (2 x 512MB) in Dual-Channel mode will yield faster transfer rates, just make sure you use the appropriate slots. For the most part ATX boards will have 4, 184-pin DIMM slots and Mirco-ATX boards will have only 2. Discern which one you have.

Remember, try to add memory with the same timings. You can verify your timings with CPUz, Everest or SIW. An online search will direct you to the appropriate sites.

Good Luck!
[SIZE=\"1\"]E6400 @ 3.4 , Noctua 120
7900GT @ 670/1680 , VF900
P5B-D 0711
2 x 1GB Patriot 6400 @ 425
Neo HE 550
P180 / G15 / MX1000[/SIZE]
Syrillian is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.