Need PCI Graphics Card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2007, 03:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
Default Need PCI Graphics Card

Hey, my friend has a Dell that only has PCI slots. What card would be good to play Cs: Source or WoW at medium or low settings for under $100. Preferably from New Egg.
__________________

nhpb is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 03:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: Need PCI Graphics Card

You can find a Nvidia 5200 PCI for around $30-40
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 04:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
Default Re: Need PCI Graphics Card

How well will that card run CS Source?
nhpb is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 04:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Need PCI Graphics Card

It will run CSS fine. Not max settings though.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 04:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ivan chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 154
Default Re: Need PCI Graphics Card

this one is alright

Newegg.com - CHAINTECH GSP5200 256MB Geforce FX5200 256MB 128-bit DDR PCI Video Card - Retail
ivan chaos is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 05:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
Default Re: Need PCI Graphics Card

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
It will run CSS fine. Not max settings though.
If it can run it at med/low settings it'll probably be ok.
nhpb is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 05:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ivan chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 154
Default Re: Need PCI Graphics Card

i used to run the agp version on my old pc for halo and it ran alright

it will do the job
ivan chaos is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 10:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: Need PCI Graphics Card

whoa dude pci graphic cards? never heard of them lol i only knew there was pci express or agp. dam just upgrade your computer and it'll be way better lol.
__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 10:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Need PCI Graphics Card

pci graphic card have been around for a while now...
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 11:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Need PCI Graphics Card

dude they been out forever before AGP slots came out.

PCI
AGP x2 (like 2 PCI's)
AGP x4 (like 4 PCI's)
AGP x8 (like 8 PCI's)
PCI-E x1 (same as AGP x8)
PCI-E x16 (like 2 AGP x8)

So even with the same chipset, AGP is a ton faster than than PCI and PCI-E x16 is wooping faster.
__________________

darksideleader is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Won't go onto Windows Logon or Accounts through graphics card, but will on shared gfx Linked Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-28-2007 09:04 PM
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
Installed new graphics card, now pc won't turn on... capa2000 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-02-2007 06:42 PM
Graphics card fan iviv Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-31-2007 06:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.