In need of new RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2012, 03:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 53
Default In need of new RAM

Well... Some of you may know my problem from a thread i made in Microsoft Windows and Software and i decided to buy new RAM. I am not willing to spend more than $40. I was using 6GB RAM before and it was sufficient, but idk what you guys think.

My motherboard has...
Bus speeds: 1333/1066/800MHz

Four DDR3 DIMMs (240-pin) sockets

PC3-8500 (DDR3-1066)

PC3-10600 (DDR3-1333)




Would This be good?
__________________

Nano511 is offline  
Old 02-14-2012, 07:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: In need of new RAM

I would get this: Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory Model F3-10666CL9D-8GBXL

Same price, heat spreaders, faster speed for the same money, and it shows latencies, which Kingston doesn't.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-14-2012, 08:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 53
Default Re: In need of new RAM

Are you sure that is compatible with my pc? It says:
Designed for 2nd Generation Intel Core Processors and the Z68/P67/H67/H61 motherboards

Optimized 1.5V low voltage for the Intel Sandy Bridge platforms

Compatible with Intel P55 & AMD Phenom II/Llano platforms

Intel XMP Ready

I dont have an intel core processor or any of those motherboards. It also says:
DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666)
[FONT=helvetica][FONT=times new roman]If you look in the OP my MB doesnt support 10666. just 10600 and 8500.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231422]Would this be better?

Nano511 is offline  
Old 02-16-2012, 07:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: In need of new RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nano511 View Post
Are you sure that is compatible with my pc? It says:
Designed for 2nd Generation Intel Core Processors and the Z68/P67/H67/H61 motherboards

Optimized 1.5V low voltage for the Intel Sandy Bridge platforms

Compatible with Intel P55 & AMD Phenom II/Llano platforms

Intel XMP Ready

I dont have an intel core processor or any of those motherboards. It also says:
DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666)
[FONT=helvetica][FONT=times new roman]If you look in the OP my MB doesnt support 10666. just 10600 and 8500.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231422]Would this be better?

That means fricking nothing. It's just a marketing gimmik. One "made for sandybridge" can work on any system. All you need to know is, the DDR type, the speed, and the voltage and timings if you are OCing. Just because yours lists the compatability list, that means nothing. A new socket could come out soon, and uses that same kind of RAM.

You want heat spreaders, bro. They really do cool your RAM when at peak times, as gaming.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hardware return rates for mobos, ram, graphics cards, hard drives, ram, and SSDs Puddle Jumper New Systems | Building and Buying 8 02-02-2012 11:56 AM
FS/FT: AMD x2 4400, 2gb ddr400 ram, matx mobo's, 1gb (2x 512) ddr2 sodimm laptop ram ShadoWing Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 07-01-2007 11:53 AM
Will I notice a difference with 4GB of Ram vs 2GB of Ram on my new system? King$nake New Systems | Building and Buying 10 02-03-2007 03:12 PM
Can I replace a 512MB PC3200 RAM with a 1GB PC4200 RAM? stargre System Upgrades 8 01-31-2006 12:38 AM
RAM QUESTION! can a pair of duals go wit an extra stik of ram? jaylee714 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 02-14-2004 11:00 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.