need an new PSU i think - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2008, 06:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default need an new PSU i think

ok I think my old one is dieing or something cause I have noticed that when I turn my computer on my neon in it take a very long time to turn on and get to full brightness, a lot longer then it use to. Its not really a problem though because I want to get a better PSU anyways cause the one I have now is pretty horrible, so could you tell me one that would be a good to get? i am planning on getting a 8800 or 2900 or something along those lines soon so I need something that can run one of those, if possible one that looks good like blue lighting or something kinda like that, cause I have any open case so you can see it. I would do it but I picked my last one and I have no idea what I am doing lol and it shows in my last PSU choosing, so thanks for any replys.
__________________

__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 07:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: need an new PSU i think

What power supply do you have now?

Cathodes, as they age, usually take longer to get to full brightness.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 04:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default Re: need an new PSU i think

i know they take a longer time to get warm but I also want a new PSU cause I don't think that the one that I have now will be able to run the new graphics card that I want to get pretty soon, will it?
I have this Newegg.com - LOGISYS Computer PS550AC ATX12V 550Watts Power Supply 100 - 127V/200 - 240V CE, FCC, CB - Retail
__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 05:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: need an new PSU i think

Refer to my power supply guide.

There are many choices.
A 450 Watt Fortron could power your rig.
Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upside-Down PSU Crazydog115 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 04-14-2008 12:57 PM
Question regarding mini ITX and recommended PSU 96300NAZ New Systems | Building and Buying 0 12-16-2007 10:29 PM
Psu Redmo0n System Upgrades 6 12-15-2007 11:35 PM
Need psu and low end vid card for build Shafra System Upgrades 7 10-15-2007 12:16 AM
In Depth PSU Guide: Please Read. Oreo New Systems | Building and Buying 18 10-13-2007 11:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.